Willcox to play in IWLCA North-South Game

Willcox to play in IWLCA North-South Game


BETHLEHEM, Pa. - Lehigh women's lacrosse senior Lauren Willcox has been named to IWLCA's prestigious North-South Game, as announced on Thursday. The fifth Mountain Hawks in as many years named to the game, Willcox was a three-time All-Patriot League defender, earning first team honors each of the past two seasons. The All-Star Game will be played on Saturday, June 6 at 11:30 a.m. at Cabrini College in Radnor, Pa.

Last season, Alex Fitzpatrick was named to the game, but didn't play after Maryland inquired about Fitzpatrick playing a fifth year for the Terrapins; Fitzpatrick went on to win a National Championship this past weekend as the Terps' starting goalie. In 2013, Julie McBrien played in the North-South Game. Leigh Ann Torvicia played in 2012 and Lauren Dykstra in 2011. Dykstra was named the game's Most Valuable Player.

The team's Athlete of the Year and Scholar-Athlete of the Year, as announced following the season, Willcox finished her senior campaign second on the team with 26 caused turnovers to go with 19 groundballs and 11 draw controls. Beyond statistics, the Chester Springs, Pa. native has consistently held down the opponents' leading scorers. As a defense, Lehigh finished third in the Patriot League with an 8.06 goals against average.

Willcox posted a career-high five caused turnovers against eventual MAAC Champion Fairfield which helped her win Patriot League Defensive Player of the Week honors, recording multiple caused turnovers eight times this season. For her career, the team co-captain finished with 72 groundballs and 63 caused turnovers. She was a three-time All-League member and two-time Academic All-Patriot League honoree.

The Mountain Hawks wrapped up a strong season highlighted by a seven-game road winning streak, a road win against Rutgers in front of a nationally-televised audience and the team's second straight postseason appearance. Lehigh's defense was especially strong as the Mountain Hawks finished the season 9-8 and earned the #5 seed in the Patriot League Tournament.

Like Lehigh Women's Lacrosse on Facebook and follow on Twitter for exclusive content, team updates and more.

Alyssa Dibona Brown D
Tori Quinn Canisius A
Jenna Frost Colgate D
Emily Anderson Connecticut M
Brittain Altomare Hofstra A
April Iannetta Hofstra D
Octavia Williams Johns Hopkins D
Caitlyn Brostrand La Salle M
Lauren Willcox Lehigh D
Amy Tiernan Massachusetts M
Rachel Vallarelli Massachusetts GK
Carrie-Jo Farrugia Niagara A
Jackie Cifarelli Ohio State A
Katie Chase Ohio State A
Tatum Coffey Penn State M
Erin McMunn Princeton A
Erin Slifer Princeton M
Lauren Paul San Diego State D
Devon Collins Syracuse A
Kailah Kempney Syracuse A
Kelsey Richardson Syracuse GK
Jessica Mills Wagner M

Caitlin McCartney Delaware M
Kierstan Smith Delaware D
Alex Zaugra Delaware GK
Kerrin Maurer Duke A
Erin Tenneson Duke M
Nora Barry Florida M
Shannon Gilroy Florida M
Caroline Tarzian Georgetown A
Adrianne Devine Georgetown D
Stephanie Finley James Madison A
Alison Curwin James Madison M
Lexi Cross James Madison D
Hannah Schmitt Loyola A
Annie Thomas Loyola A
Taryn VanThof Loyola M
Melissa Cox Mount St. Mary's D
Loren Generi Navy A
Courtney Waite North Carolina D
Andi Raymond Towson A
Michelle Dufault Towson D
Kelsea Donnelly Towson GK
Meg Bartley Virginia Tech A
Back to blog

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.