University Club Unveils New Trophy Case for Tewaaraton Award

The Tewaaraton Award is the pre-eminent lacrosse award, which is annually awarded to the NCAA men’s and women’s lacrosse player of the year. Last night the Tewaaraton Advisory Council unveiled the new trophy case at the University Club in Washington, DC. Among those in attendance were Donald Phillips, Jeffrey Harvey (former Bayhawks Owner), US Lacrosse, University Club members and the Capital Lacrosse Club team.

The bronze Tewaaraton Trophy featuring a Mohawk native was designed and created by Frederick Kail. Spanning four decades, Mr. Kail has distinguished himself as an accomplished sports sculptor and pre-eminent lacrosse sculptor. With this timeless work of art, he captures the exciting spirit and powerful dynamics of lacrosse with meticulous attention to accurate detail. His depiction of a single unnamed Mohawk player, dramatically surging to the front, profoundly portrays the competitive human spirit and superior athletic ability required to win this award.

Back to blog

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.