Three Pioneers Earn USILA Scholar All-America Honors

DENVER – University of Denver men's lacrosse seniors Drew Babb (Centennial, Colo.), Kyle Hercher (Littleton, Colo.) and Eric Law (Denver, Colo.) were selected as Scholar All-American, it was announced by the Unites States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association. These three student-athletes bring the Pioneers’ total to 10 honorees since the men's lacrosse program became Division I to earn the honor.

Since his arrival, head coach Bill Tierney has had five student-athletes named to the list.

“One of the best parts of being a collegiate coach is having the opportunity to encourage young men to be more than just athletes,” Coach Tierney said. “The University of Denver provides great academic opportunities, amazing facilities and so much support for those who choose to excel. Drew, Kyle and Eric are integral players, leaders and role models for their teammates and fellow student-athletes at DU. Their academic success, along with helping lead us to the NCAA Final Four is an inspiration to us all. Being named USILA Scholar All-Americans is a just reward for these three great young men. My staff and I are very proud of them.”

Babb and Hercher have been a staple in the Pioneers’ defense over the last two seasons. Hercher has started 28-of-55 games over his career, while Babb has started in 27-of-30 games. Hercher has called 30 turnovers over his career and tallied 53 ground balls, while also scoring one goal and recording two assists. Babb heads into Championship weekend with 15 career caused turnovers and 30 ground balls to go along with one career assist.

Over Law’s three-year career, he’s amassed 149 career points off 83 goals and 66 assists. He’s scored seven game-winning goals over his career, including the Pioneers’ final goal in their 12-11 come-back win over UNC in last weekend’s Quarterfinals.

DU's Scholar All-America Selections
2001 - Mike Law
2004 - Cory Vann
2006 - Geoff Snider
2006 - Adam Goodwin
2007 - David Hahn
2010 - Dillon Roy
2011 - Jeff Brown
2013 – Drew Babb, Kyle Hercher, Eric Law

To view all the USILA Scholar All-Americans, click here

About the USILA Scholar All-America Program
In 1989 the USILA Scholar All-America Program was established to recognize student-athletes from USILA member institutions who have distinguished themselves academically, athletically and as citizens of their communities. The USILA Selection Committee selects an overall team representing Division I, II and III. The Scholar All-Americas are recognized at the annual Lacrosse All-America Banquet.
Back to blog

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.