The IWLCA honored twelve student-athletes as the 2015 Players of the Year

The IWLCA honored twelve student-athletes as the 2015 Players of the Year


The IWLCA honored twelve student-athletes as the 2015 Players of the Year at the 2015 IWLCA All American Banquet on Saturday, June 6 at the Radisson Hotel in Valley Forge, Pennsylvania.

Division I

Attacker of the Year - Kayla Treanor, Syracuse University

Kayla Treanor earned first-team All-America honors for the third consecutive year after recording 91 points (60g, 31a). She is a finalist for the Tewaaraton and Honda awards for the second straight year. Treanor was named the ACC Offensive Player of the Year, ACC Tournament MVP and to the All-ACC First Team.

Midfield of the Year - Taylor Cummings, University of Maryland

Taylor Cummings earned her third IWLCA First Team All-American honors after leading Maryland to the NCAA title with 37 assists, 100 points, 41 ground balls, 143 draw controls and 36 caused turnovers. The junior midfielder won the 2015 Tewaaraton and the 2014 Tewaaraton and was named the Big Ten Midfielder of the Year.

Defender of the Year Megan Douty, University of Maryland

Megan Douty, the 2015 Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year, leads the fifth-ranked Terrapin defense. The senior defender, who was also an IWLCA First Team All-American in 2014, ranked second on the team with 30 ground balls and 23 caused turnovers this season.

Goalkeeper of the Year - Caylee Waters, University of North

Caylee Waters ranked fifth in the nation in save percentage and 12th in goals against average. A first-team All-ACC in each of the last two seasons, she was named All-NCAA Tournament & All-ACC Tournament and a First-team All-District by the IWLCA. Waters is a member of the 2015-16 U.S. National Team Tryout Pool and named to the Tewaaraton Award watch list (top 50).

Division II

Attacker of the Year - Erica Geremia, LeMoyne College

The nation’s leading point scorer, Geremia made an immediate impact with the Dolphins. She recorded 121 points on 67 goals and 54 assists. Her point total is a single-season program record, while her goal and assist totals are the second-most. She had eight games with at least seven points.

Midfielder of the Year - Jessica Pandolf, Lock Haven University

Jessica Pandolf was named the PSAC Player of the Year for the second consecutive season. Her 82 goals led DII and helped her break her own single-season record at LHU. Finished the season with 98 total points (82 goals & 15 assists). She was named PSAC Tournament MVP after scoring 13 goals in two games. Named to NCAA DII All-Tournament Team.

Defender of the Year - Brittany Ast, University of New Haven

Brittany Ast was the Northeast-10 Conference Defensive Player of the Year and a First Team All-Conference performer. Brittany led New Haven with 56 ground balls and was second with 27 caused turnovers. Anchored a defense that allowed just 7.95 goals against a game. Also scored four goals and added two assists.

Goalkeeper of the Year - Chrissy Baffuto, Lock Haven University

Chrissy Baffuto was a 2015 All-South Region and All-PSAC First Team selection. She logged every minute between the pipes, recording a 4.98 goals against average and .518 save-percentage. Ranked second in DII in GAA and fourth in save-percentage. Was named to the 2015 NCAA DII All-Tournament Team.

Division III

Attacker of the Year - Mandy Buell – Gettysburg College

Mandy Buell led the Bullets with 74 goals and 95 points this season. Buell became the 13th Bullet to reach 200 career points and finished 12th in school history with 208. She was named Centennial Conference Offensive Player of the Year as well as first-team all-region and first-team all-conference this spring.

Midfielder of the Year - Emma Hayes-Hurley - SUNY Cortland

Emma Hayes-Hurley culminated her Cortland career by earning Most Outstanding Player honors at the NCAA Div. III "final four." She was also named the SUNYAC Player of the Year. Hayes-Hurley finished the season with 90 points on 72 goals and 18 assists giving her 200 career points on 164 goals and 36 assists. She led Division III with 180 draw controls and finished her career as Cortland's all-time leader in draws.

Defender of the Year – Karlie Dougherty – York College

Karlie Dougherty led the #7 York College women’s lacrosse team to their best season in the 10-year history of the program. Dougherty led the Spartans to 15 wins and a berth in the Elite Eight as she was the program’s first ever CAC Player of the Year and first-ever IWLCA first team All-American selection. Dougherty racked up 45 ground balls, 66 draw controls, 30 caused turnovers and three goals in her 21 games this season.

Goalkeeper of the Year – Hannah Jeffrey – Bates College

Junior Hannah Jeffrey finished the 2015 season as the NESCAC leader in saves (138), and ranked ninth in DIII in save percentage with a .527 mark. She is Bates' first First Team pick since 1994. Jeffrey's award is her third this postseason, following First Team All-NESCAC and IWLCA First Team All-Region honors.
Back to blog

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.