Teams Announced for 2015 US Lacrosse WCLA National Championships,  Tournament is May 6-9 in Virginia Beach

Teams Announced for 2015 US Lacrosse WCLA National Championships, Tournament is May 6-9 in Virginia Beach

BALTIMORE, April 22, 2015 — Santa Clara University earned the top seed in the Division I bracket of the 2015 US Lacrosse Women’s Collegiate Lacrosse Associates (WCLA) National Championships, presented by Harrow Sports, while Duke University Club earned the No. 1 seed in the Division II bracket.

The event, featuring the top women’s collegiate club teams in the country, takes place May 6-9 at the Princess Anne Athletic Complex & Stadium in Virginia Beach, Va. The Division I bracket includes 16 teams while the Division II bracket has 12 teams. Both tournament fields are comprised of a combination of teams earning automatic qualifiers as league champions and teams earning at-large berths. Division I and II seeds are listed below.

Santa Clara brings a perfect 13-0 overall record into the WCLA championship tournament, including a 13-8 win last weekend over UCLA in the championship game of the Western Women’s Lacrosse League (WWLL) tournament. Santa Clara is making its eighth straight and 11th overall appearance in the US Lacrosse WCLA National Championship.

Defending Division I national champion Pittsburgh is seeded sixth. The Panthers edged Boston College Club, 12-11, in last year’s national championship game.

In the Division II bracket, Duke University Club earned the top seed and brings an unblemished 12-0 overall record into the WCLA National Championship. The Blue Devils won the Mid Atlantic Women’s Lacrosse League (MAWLL) Division II title last week with a 19-7 win over Loyola University Maryland Club, which earned the number six seed in this year’s championship.

Selections for the field are based on a variety of criteria, including: overall record, record versus ranked teams, results versus common opponents, record versus WCLA teams, quality wins/quality losses, head-to-head results, conference playoff performance, final conference standings, record for last five (5) games, and more.

The US Lacrosse WCLA structure consists of over 200 college programs from across the country. More information about the 2015 US Lacrosse WCLA National Championships, including game schedules and competition brackets, can be found online at Further general information about the WCLA is available online at

Harrow Sports is the official event sponsor and retailer for the 2015 US Lacrosse WCLA National Championships.

The complete field:

Division I
No. 1 Santa Clara University
No. 2 University of Michigan Club
No. 3 University of Texas
No. 4 University of California, Los Angeles
No. 5 University of Georgia
No. 6 University of Pittsburgh
No. 7 University of Colorado Boulder
No. 8 Virginia Tech University Club
No. 9 California Polytechnic State University
No. 10 University of Massachusetts Club
No. 11 University of Delaware Club
No. 12 Penn State University Club
No. 13 Towson University Club
No. 14 University of Minnesota
No. 15 San Diego State University Club
No. 16 University of Maryland Club

Division II
No. 1 Duke University Club
No. 2 University of Utah
No. 3 University of Denver Club
No. 4 Oakland University
No. 5 Air Force Academy
No. 6 Loyola University Maryland Club
No. 7 College of St. Benedict
No. 8 Concordia (Ca.) University
No. 9 California State University San Marcos
No. 10 St. Thomas University
No. 11 University of Vermont Club
No. 12 Iowa State University

About US Lacrosse
US Lacrosse, a 501(c)(3) nonprofit corporation, is the national governing body of men’s and women’s lacrosse and the home of the nation’s fastest-growing sport. US Lacrosse has more than 450,000 members in 67 regional chapters across the country. Through responsive and effective leadership, US Lacrosse provides programs and services to inspire participation while protecting the integrity of the sport.

Media Contact
Paul Ohanian
Marketing and Public Relations Manager
US Lacrosse
410-235-6882 # 154
Back to blog

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.