Team USA to Play 2011 NCAA Tournament Contenders

Team USA to Play 2011 NCAA Tournament Contenders

BALTIMORE, Sept. 9, 2011 — The 2011 US Lacrosse Stars & Stripes weekend, featuring contests between the U.S. men’s and women’s national senior teams and top division I collegiate competition, moves to Durham, N.C. at Duke University, October 8-9. All weekend events are scheduled to take place on the fields next to Koskinen Stadium.

The 38-member 2011-2012 U.S. women’s senior team, led by head coach Ricky Fried, suits up Saturday, Oct. 8 to take on University of North Carolina (UNC) in games at 5 and 7 p.m. The following day, the U.S. women take the field at 9 a.m. to play the United States Naval Academy (Navy) for the first game of the day and then again at 1:30 p.m. The 2011-2012 U.S. men’s senior team plays Duke University, Sunday, Oct. 9, at 11 a.m. in between the two women’s games.

Representing the U.S. women’s national team are seven current or former Tar Heels, including: Kara Cannizzaro `13, Kristen Carr `10, Corey Donohoe `11, Amber Falcone `09, Erica LaGrow `08, Jenn Russell `10 and Laura Zimmerman `12. The current college players will suit up for Team USA and play against their college teammates. In addition to the seven Tar Heels, Team USA is represented by 16 other schools with Northwestern claiming the second highest total of six players.

The U.S. men’s national team will be coached by Kevin Cassese, a Duke graduate who is now the head coach at Lehigh, and Shawn Nadelen, the new head coach at Towson, both of whom were members of the U.S. men’s national team that won the 2010 Federation of International lacrosse (FIL) World Championship. This team features members of the 2010 FIL Championship team, members of the 2009 training team, and a number of players who have starred at the professional level, including two former Blue Devils – 2010 Tewaaraton Award Winner Ned Crotty and 2008 Tewaaraton Award Winner Matt Danowski, son of Duke Head Coach John Danowski.

Both national teams boast players from the most recent world championship squads.

Returners from the 2009 women’s team: Sarah Albright (Northwestern ’06), Sarah Bullard (Duke ’09), Amber Falcone (UNC ’09), Megan Huether (Duke ’06), Erica LaGrow (UNC ’08), Caitlyn McFadden (Maryland ’10), Holly McGarvie (Princeton ’09), Lindsey Munday (Northwestern ’06), Regina Oliver (Ohio State ’05), Katie Rowan (Syracuse ’09), Acacia Walker (Maryland ’05) and Devon Wills (Dartmouth ’06).

Returners from the 2010 men’s team: Joe Cinosky (Maryland ’08), Ned Crotty (Duke ’10), Stephen Peyser (Johns Hopkins ’08), Paul Rabil (Johns Hopkins ’08), Chris Schiller (Penn State ’99), Max Seibald (Cornell ’09), Matt Striebel (Princeton ’01) and Drew Westervelt (UMBC ’07).

In addition to playing, both U.S. men’s and women’s teams will host National Team Player Clinics for kids in grades 3-12 from 1-3 p.m. on Saturday, Oct. 8. The cost for each clinic is $50 if pre-registered and includes a t-shirt, poster and other opportunities to win official Team USA gear. Walk-up registration, pending availability, is $60.

For more information about the event or to sign up for a clinic, please visit:

Marriott and Nationwide are the official sponsors of the National Teams Program. Warrior is the official equipment and apparel sponsor of the U.S. men’s national teams. Champion is the official apparel sponsor and deBeer is the official equipment sponsor of the U.S. women’s national teams.

About US Lacrosse
US Lacrosse, a 501(c)(3) nonprofit corporation, is the national governing body for men’s and women’s lacrosse. US Lacrosse is the parent organization of the U.S. men’s and women’s national teams program. US Lacrosse has nearly 350,000 members in 63 regional chapters around the country. Through responsive and effective leadership, US Lacrosse strives to provide programs and services to inspire participation while protecting the integrity of the game. To learn more about US Lacrosse, please visit
Back to blog

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.