SSC Champs Lead Way with 10 All-SSC Selections

SSC Champs Lead Way with 10 All-SSC Selections


MELBOURNE, Fla. - The University of Tampa, Sunshine State Conference regular season champions for the second straight season, boast 10 all-SSC awards. In all, 42 men's lacrosse student-athletes were recognized as all-SSC.

Florida Southern's Dane Sorensen was selected Player of the Year. Rollins' Jake Hogan was named Freshman of the Year and Lynn's Brian Kingsbury was named Coach of the Year.

A senior from Victoria, British Columbia, Sorensen led the conference during the regular season with 47 goals (3.36 per game) and 3.86 points per game. His 54 points were second in the SSC.

Hogan is a freshman from Westwood, Massachusetts started four games in goal for the Tars and led the team with a 8.95 goals against average and a .605 save percentage.

Kingsbury is in his second season of coaching with the Fighting Knights and has earned his first Coach of the Year award after leading Lynn to a 8-6 record and an appearance in the SSC tournament.

Screen Shot 2015-04-24 at 1.58.40 PM

Sorensen, Conor Whipple (Tampa), Jack Vonarb (Rollins), Trenell Boggans (Florida Southern), and Will Cothron (Saint Leo) repeat as first team selections from 2014. Dylan Yonts (Saint Leo), Matt Bilak (Tampa), and Nick Wynne (Florida Tech) are first team this year after making second team last season.

Voting for the All-SSC Men's Lacrosse Team was conducted among the league's men's coaches.

Player of the Year: Dane Sorensen, Florida Southern
Freshman of the Year: Jake Hogan, Rollins
Coach of the Year: Brian Kingsbury, Lynn

Visit for the latest news and info on University of Tampa Athletics.
Back to blog

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.