Schmidt Named ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year

GREENSBORO, N.C. - Men's Lacrosse Scholar-Athlete of the Year Brett Schmidt of Maryland leads the 2011 All-Atlantic Coast Conference Academic team as announced today by Commissioner John Swofford.

In addition to Schmidt, four other Terps, sophomore Owen Blye and seniors Dan Burns, Grant Catalino and Brian Farrell were named to the All-ACC Academic team.

Schmidt, a native of Dublin, Pa., earned United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association (USILA) All-America honors, LaxPower All-America team recognition and was a member of both the 2011 NCAA All-Tournament and ACC All-Tournament team. The senior led the 2011 Terrapins with 22 caused turnovers and led all defenders with 50 groundballs. In addition, he helped lead a Terrapin defense that finished the season ranked fourth in the nation in scoring defense.

Four men's lacrosse student-athletes who earned All-Conference honors this past season secured spots on the 30-member All-ACC Academic squad, while 11 selections are repeat All-ACC Academic team honorees. Joining Schmidt as student-athletes who earned both All-ACC Academic team recognition and All-Conference honors in 2011 are Duke's CJ Costabile and Jordan Wolf and North Carolina's Ryan Flanagan.

Duke placed at least 12 student-athletes on the team for the fifth-consecutive year as the Blue Devils registered a league-high 14 honorees, one shy of their program-high (15) earned during the 2007, 2008 and 2010 All-ACC Academic team counts. North Carolina followed with eight honorees, while Maryland and Virginia had five and three recognized, respectively.

The ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year honor was established in September 2007 to be awarded annually to the top junior or senior student-athlete in their respective sports. Candidates for the award must have maintained a 3.0 grade point average for their career as well as a 3.0 for each of the last two semesters.

To be eligible for consideration for the All-ACC Academic team, a student-athlete, regardless of classification, must have earned a 3.00 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.00 cumulative average during his academic career.

The 2011 All-ACC Academic Men's Lacrosse team is as follows:

Name, Class, Major, School
Ben Belmont, Sr., History, Duke
CJ Costabile, Jr., History, Duke !
Stephen Coyle, Sr., History, Duke !
Josh Dionne, Fr., Undeclared, Duke
Jesse Fehr, Grad., Management Studies, Duke
Chris Hipps, Fr., Undeclared, Duke
Zach Howell, Sr., History, Duke #
Jimmy O'Neill, So., History, Duke
Josh Offit, So., History, Duke
Charlie Payton, Fr., Undeclared, Duke
Rob Rotanz, Jr., History, Duke !
Justin Turri, Sr., Economics, Duke #
Christian Walsh, Fr., Undeclared, Duke
Jordan Wolf, Fr., Undeclared, Duke
Owen Blye, So., Agriculture & Resource Eco., Maryland
Dan Burns, Sr., Communication, Maryland
Grant Catalino, Sr., Finance, Maryland #
Brian Farrell, Sr., Communication, Maryland
Brett Schmidt, Sr., Finance, Maryland #
Michael Burns, Sr., History, North Carolina &
Ryan Flanagan, Sr., Business Admin., North Carolina &
Chris Hunt, Sr., Business Admin, North Carolina #
Frankie Kelly, Fr., Business Admin., North Carolina
Chris Madalon, Sr., Management & Society, North Carolina
Kieran McDonald, So., Business Admin., North Carolina
Kevin Piegare, Sr., Business Admin., North Carolina
Mark Staines, Jr., Journalism & Mass Comm., North Carolina #
Rob Emery, Fr., Undeclared, Virginia
Patrick Harbeson, Fr., Undeclared, Virginia
Brian McDermott, Sr., History, Virginia

* Five-time honoree; & Four-time honoree; # Three-time honoree; ! Two-time honoree
Back to blog

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.