Rochester Wins Second Straight Brogden Cup by Sweeping Canada

Rochester Wins Second Straight Brogden Cup by Sweeping Canada

Rochester Wins Second Straight Brogden Cup by Sweeping Canada

Rochester repeated as Brogden Cup champion this weekend, sweeping a Canadian team from Ontario in two games, 23-5, and 8-4, at Austin Tindall Park in Orlando, Fla.

This meaningful and historic North American competition was held in partnership with the Central Florida Sports Commission and presented by Gatorade through Level 2 Sports.

Rochester qualified to represent the United States by winning the brine National Lacrosse Classic this past summer in Maryland. The Ontario (Oshawa) team is comprised of the top players from the Ontario Junior Men’s Field Lacrosse League.

In Game 1 on Friday, Rochester bolted to a 6-2 first-quarter lead and led 12-3 at halftime. Senior John Vakiener (Fairport) and junior Trevor Hodgins (Gates-Chili High, committed to Ohio State) each had four goals and an assist and senior Austin Nadeau (Proctor Academy, NH) scored three times while senior Maximus Maxwell (Hamburg, UMBC) had a goal and three assists. Senior Jon-Michael Tokar (Corning, Binghamton) had two goals and two assists and Andrew Schoeneck (Penfield, Bellarmine) and senior Benjamin Brooks (Irondequoit, Roberts Wesleyan) each had two goals and an assist while senior Steven Ricci (Pittsford, Nazareth) scored twice. Andrew Johnson scored twice for Ontario.

In Saturday’s second game, the game was much tighter as Ontario seized a 2-1 first-quarter edge. But Rochester led, 4-3, at halftime and pulled away in the second half for the 8-4 clincher.

Maxwell – who also played on last year’s title team – had three goals and an assist to pace the attack and Vakiener had a goal and an assist. Nadeau, Schoeneck, Ricci and senior Michael Hubert (St. Joseph’s Collegiate Institute, Clarkson) also scored for the winners. Goalies for Rochester were Irondequoit senior Alex Shoemaker (Brockport State) and Penn Yan senior Brandon Maciejewski.

Rochester was coached by Craig Whipple (Irondequoit head coach) and brother Andrew Whipple (Pittsford head coach) as well as Irondequoit assistants Matthew Knope and Duffy McKenna.

The Brogden Cup is an event promoting international fellowship between the United States of America and Canada. Dating back a generation before Major League Lacrosse, the Brogden Cup was formally played between the top post-collegiate club teams and players in North America. The tournament has seen such greats as Gary and Paul Gait, and Dave Pietramala to name a few.

Today, the Brogden Cup features the top U19 players in North America enabling those unable to participate in the World Games, due to unfortunate birth dates, an opportunity to experience international field lacrosse every year.

Rochester has qualified for the Brogden Cup four out of the past five years, winning three times.
The event also featured friendly exhibition games featuring local, regional, national and international teams from Upstate New York, Ontario Canada, Atlanta Georgia, Central Florida and South Florida, including LCO-Central Florida, Team 22-South Florida and LB3-Atlanta Georgia.

CANADA – Ontario
Braun Cameron M 2 Clarington Ont
Celentario Tealan M 24 Gloucester Ont
Conley Greg D 15 Ottawa Ont
Cuomo Foster M 19 Toronto Ont
Dehuek Patrick M 4 Toronto Ont
Ferjo Dryden D 26 Toronto Ont
Fernandes Jeff M 7 Whitby Ont
Fournier Nick G 23 Orangeville Ont
Gaulton Tyler D 13 Clarington Ont
Harris Josh D 29 Welland Ont
Johnson Andrew M 9 Oshawa Ont
McDonald Holden G 6 Pickering Ont
Morrison Connor P 10 Toronto Ont
Muir Brooker M 27 Whitby Ont
Stroscher Jake M 11 Toronto Ont
Vandam Kevin D 16 Ottawa Ont
Ward Cody D 12 Toronto Ont
Ward Brandon M 21 Ottawa Ont
USA – Rochester (NY)
Arcarese Joe D 9 Fairport Ny Fairport
Brooks Benjamin A 1 Rochester Ny Irondequoit
Burdette James D 14 Penn Yan Ny Penn Yan Albany
Deakin James D 10 Clarence Ny St. Joseph’s
Hodgins Trevor M 16 Spencerport Ny Churchville Chili Ohio State
Hollfelder Christian D 11 Hamburg Ny Hamburg
Hubert Michael A 2 Williamsville Ny St. Joesph’s Clarkson
Kaser Matthew A 3 Spencerport Ny Spencerport
Kenney Eli M 17 Rochester Ny West Irondequoit Cortland
Kimmins Nicholas D 12 Fairport Ny Penfield Univ of Hartford
Lopez Sam D 25 Rochester Ny Irondequoit
Maciejewski Brandon G 15 Penn Yan Ny Penn Yan
Maxwell Maximus M 18 Hamburg Ny Hamburg UMBC
Nadeau Austin M 19 Walpole Ma Proctor
Pincus Cameron D 13 Rochester Ny Pittsford
Quinzi Stephen A 4 Pittsford Ny Pittsford
Reeves Ben A 5 Macedon Ny Palmyra Macedon Hobart
Ricci Steven M 20 Rochester Ny Pittsford Nazareth
Richards Derek A 6 Rochester Ny Hilton Mercyhurst
Schoeneck Andrew A 7 Fairport Ny Penfield Bellarmine
Seminara Jack M 21 Clarence Ny Canisius
Shoemaker Alex G 24 Rochester Ny West Irondequoit Brockport State
Tokar Jon-Michael M 22 Big Flats Ny Corning
Vakiener John M 23 Penfield Ny Fairport Binghampton
Voigt Bradley A 8 Penn Yan Ny Penn Yan Syracuse
Back to blog

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.