Poillon Named Patriot League Goalie of the Year, Full All-League Selections

BETHLEHEM, Pa. - Lehigh sophomore goalie Matt Poillon has been named Patriot League Goalie of the Year for a second straight season, while six others joined him as All-League honorees, as announced on Tuesday. Poillon and senior Mike Noone were named to the First Team while seniors David DiMaria, Brian Hess, Ryan Snyder, junior Ty Souders and sophomore Patrick Corbett garnered Second Team laurels.

The seven total All-League honorees were the most in the Patriot League, ahead of Army (6), Bucknell (6), Colgate (5), Holy Cross (1) and Navy (1).

Poillon became the first goalie to win the major award in back-to-back seasons since Navy’s Matt Russell (2005-06) and Army’s Adam Fullerton (2007-08). Poillon has continued his strong play from a breakout freshman campaign, owning the league’s second best goals against average (7.70) and save percentage (.595). The Mount Sinai, N.Y. native is 9-2 on the season and 23-5 for his career, and is in the top 10 nationally in active career wins (and is the only sophomore in the group).

The other First Team honoree, Noone has helped spearhead a Lehigh defense which is again in the top 10 nationally in fewest goals allowed. The Mountain Hawks have allowed only 7.64 goals per game. They’ve been strong as of late, holding opponents to seven goals or fewer in six of their last seven games. Noone owns 26 groundballs and a team-leading 21 caused turnovers. That includes a career effort against Penn when he had five groundballs and a career-high six caused turnovers.

Another key defenseman is Souders, who earns All-League honors for a second straight season. A 2012 All-American, the Macungie, Pa. native has 30 groundballs (most among Lehigh close defensemen) and 18 caused turnovers for the season. He has consistently shut down opponents’ top offensive players. Souders had a career-high five groundballs along with two caused turnovers vs. UMass this season while setting a career high with three caused turnovers against Penn State at the Whitman’s Sampler Independence Classic. Souders has caused multiple turnovers on six occasions.

Senior David DiMaria was the team’s leading scorer with a career-high 57 points (26 goals, 31 assists) and earned All-League honors for a second straight season. He’s among the Patriot League’s and nation’s leading scorers. DiMaria leads the league in points (57), more than Offensive Player of the Year John Glesener (Army) who has 56 and First Team honorees Peter Baum (Colgate) with 46 and Garrett Thul (Army) with 42. DiMaria posted five or more points on five occasions, including seven points in three of the first five games this season. He’s posted 15 points over the final three games of the regular season, including five against Colgate, four at Bucknell and six vs. Lafayette.

Two Lehigh midfielders were named All-League performers as well. A senior captain, Hess has made a strong impact, especially in league play. Hess finished the regular season with a career-high 16 points behind 10 goals and six assists. Eleven of those points came over the six Patriot League games, including a hat trick in the league opener at Army and two goals at Holy Cross. Meanwhile, Corbett has helped solidify the midfield position, owning 20 points (18 goals, two assists) one season after posting 23. The Burlington, Ontario native enjoyed scored a career-high four goals against this Friday’s Semifinal opponent (Colgate). He also had three fourth-quarter goals in the Independence Classic against Penn State while posting two goals vs. Navy.

Snyder earns All-League recognition for a third straight season as he’s won 51 percent of his faceoffs on the year. Some of his standout games include at Army (13-of-17), vs. Saint Joseph’s (14-of-17), against Navy (11-of-19) and vs. Colgate (13-of-25). Snyder has 71 groundballs on the season and recently eclipsed 300 for his career and stands second in Patriot League history.

The Mountain Hawks look ahead to the Patriot League Tournament this coming weekend, which they’ll host. Lehigh will face #4 seed Colgate on Friday (Apr. 26) at 7:30 p.m. after #2 Bucknell and #3 Army square off at 4:30. The winners will face off on Sunday (Apr. 28) at 3 p.m. for the Patriot League Tournament Championship and automatic berth to the NCAA Tournament. To order tickets online, please click here.

Like Lehigh men’s lacrosse on Facebook and follow on Twitter for continued updates on the Mountain Hawks.

2013 All-Patriot League Team and Major Awards in Men's Lacrosse
Offensive Player of the Year - John Glesener, Army, So., A
Defensive Player of the Year - Brendan Buckley, Army, Sr., D
Rookie of the Year - Sean Doyle, Bucknell, Fr., A
Goalkeeper of the Year - Matt Poillon, Lehigh, So.
Coach of the Year - Jim Morrissey, Holy Cross

First Team
John Glesener, Army, So., A
Garrett Thul, Army, Sr., A (**!)
Peter Baum, Colgate, Sr., A (***)
David Dickson, Bucknell, So., M (!)
Thomas Flibotte, Bucknell, Fr., M
Jimmy Ryan, Colgate, Jr., M
Brendan Buckley, Army, Sr., D
Bobby Lawrence, Colgate, Jr., D (*)
Mike Noone, Lehigh, Sr., D (!)
Alex Daly, Army, Fr., FOS
Pat Kiernan, Navy, Jr., LSM (!)
Matt Poillon, Lehigh, So., GK (*)

Second Team &
Chase Bailey, Bucknell, Sr., A
Ryan Walsh, Colgate, So., A (!)
David DiMaria, Lehigh, Sr., A (!)
John Hannan, Holy Cross, Sr., M
Patrick Corbett, Lehigh, So., M
Brian Hess, Lehigh, Sr., M
Mike Huffner, Bucknell, Sr., D (**)
Jackson Place, Bucknell, Jr., D
Ty Souders, Lehigh, Jr., D (*)
Ryan Gutowski, Bucknell, Sr., FOS
Robert Grabher, Colgate, Sr., FOS (*)
Ryan Snyder, Lehigh, Sr., FOS (*!)
Jimbo D'Aprile, Army, So., D-Mid
Sam Somers, Army, So., GK

& - Second team features 14 student-athletes because of a tie in the voting
* - Number of previous first-team accolades
! - Number of previous second-team accolades
Back to blog

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.