Penn State Men's Lacrosse Announces 2012 Captains

Penn State Men's Lacrosse Announces 2012 Captains

UNIVERSITY PARK, Pa. - During the Penn State men's lacrosse team's alumni weekend, head coach Jeff Tambroni announced the squad's 2012 captains while honoring the team's award winners from the 2011 campaign.

Senior Matthew Mackrides (Newtown Square, Pa.) will serve as a team captain for the second straight year and will be joined by classmates Ryan Link (Englewood, Colo.) and Ryan McGarvey (Lower Gwynedd, Pa.) for the 2012 season.

"All three seniors lead by example and are selfless in their daily approach, and our staff is excited for our newly appointed leaders and our team," said Tambroni, who will enter his second season at the program's helm in 2012. "Their maturity and poise under pressure will be essential this year. We are confident that they will be up to the task and their leadership will make our alumni, family and friends of Penn State Lacrosse very proud."

Penn State's first two-time captain since Dave Daniecki, Greg Jackson and Tolleison Morriss each served in 1996-97, Mackrides is a two-time All-CAA First Team honoree. The attackman has recorded 102 points (71g, 31a) in 39 career games and last year led the team in goals (20) and was tied for first in man-up markers (3). During his sophomore season, the Newtown Square, Pa., native paced the squad in both points (44) and goals (36) and ranked second in ground balls (43).

An Englewood, Colo., native, Link has appeared in 30 career games, including all 14 contests during the 2011 season. The midfielder tallied two goals as a junior and ranked third on the team with 10 caused turnovers and fourth with 38 ground balls.

McGarvey has played in 27 career games, including nine contests during the 2011 season. As a junior, the defender ranked fourth on the team in caused turnovers (9) and 10th in ground balls (16).

During the team's award brunch Sunday, the coaching staff presented four team awards for the 2011 season. Mackrides earned the program's Hard Hat Award, presented to the member of the team whose persistence, work ethic and courage set a blue-collar standard for the program.

Senior goalkeeper Dave Baker (Havertown, Pa.) garnered the program's Citizenship Award for best combining the qualities of character, classroom and community service, while John Nichols (Myersville, Md., '11) was tabbed the George Pittenger Senior Award recipient as a member of the senior class who led selflessly, while inspiring his classmates and teammates through his actions.

Defender Matt Bernier (Drexel Hill, Pa., '11) earned The Thiel Family Nittany Lion Award, presented to the team member whose actions, investments and selfless contributions were synonymous with "Success with Honor."
Back to blog

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.