Ohio Machine selects Tom Schreiber out of Princeton as No. 1 Overall in 2014 MLL Collegiate Draft

Ohio Machine selects Tom Schreiber out of Princeton as No. 1 Overall in 2014 MLL Collegiate Draft

Mar 2, 2012; Princeton, NJ, USA; Princeton Tigers midfielder Tom Schreiber (center) brings the ball up field against John Hopkins Blue Jays defenders Nikhon Schuler (36) and Tucker Durkin (51) at Princeton. Mandatory Credit: Jim O'Connor-USA TODAY Sports
Photo Credit: Jim O'Connor

PHILADELPHIA, Pa. (Friday, January 10) - Major League Lacrosse, The premier outdoor lacrosse league held its 14th Collegiate Draft on Friday night at the U.S. Lacrosse Convention in Philadelphia, Pa.

Overall 64 college seniors were selected over eight rounds with 2013 NCAA Champion Duke leading the pack with six athletes picked, followed by Maryland and Johns Hopkins with four each.

"The collegiate draft is always a great event to start our season," said MLL Commissioner David Gross. "All the teams greatly improved their rosters with the players they selected."

All players may sign contracts with Major League Lacrosse after their 2014 college season is over.

With the first overall selection in the 2014 MLL Collegiate Draft, the Ohio Machine selected Princeton Midfielder Tom Schreiber. The East Meadow, N.Y. native, scored 28 goals last season. Schreiber is a master distributor, racking up 32 assists in 2013 and bringing his total to 73 in his collegiate career so far. His 2.07 assists per game ranked 16th in D-I last year, proving he can be a great addition to the Machine should he join the team after his days at Princeton are over. Schreiber will also be participating in the 2014 FIL World Championships as a coach for the Ugandan National Team.

Below are the results of the first round. For a complete list of all draftees please visit the MajorLeagueLacrosse.com Draft Results page.

No. Team Player Pos. College
Round 1
1 Ohio Tom Schreiber M Princeton
2 Rochester Jordan Wolf A Duke
3 New York Joe Fletcher D Loyola
4 New York Luke Duprey D Duke
5 Florida Kieran McArdle A St Johns
6 Denver Jeremy Noble M Denver
7 Charlotte Michael Ehrhardt D Maryland
8 Boston Scott McWilliams D UVA

About Major League Lacrosse
Major League Lacrosse (MLL), the premier professional outdoor lacrosse League, was founded by Jake Steinfeld and is headquartered in Boston. Major League Lacrosse commenced play in June 2001 and will embark on its fourteenth season. MLL has continued to lead the sport of lacrosse into the mainstream of competitive team sports. The league is made up of eight teams: The Boston Cannons, Charlotte Hounds, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Denver Outlaws, Florida Launch, New York Lizards, Ohio Machine and Rochester Rattlers. More information about the league can be found at www.majorleaguelacrosse.com, Facebook or Twitter.
Back to blog

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.