Men's and Women's Team USA Rosters for Champion Challenge

Men's and Women's Team USA Rosters for Champion Challenge

BALTIMORE, Dec. 9, 2011 – US Lacrosse has announced the U.S. national men's and women's senior team rosters for the 2012 Champion Challenge, a US Lacrosse event. Both national teams will face off against top collegiate and international competition at ESPN Wide World of Sports Complex in Lake Buena Vista, Fla., Jan. 27-29.

The 21-member U.S. men's senior team will play the University of Denver Sunday, Jan. 29. Leading the coaching staff for Champion Challenge will be several members of the U.S. men's national team that claimed Team USA's ninth title at the 2010 Federation of International Lacrosse (FIL) World Cup. The staff includes Kevin Cassese, currently the head coach at Lehigh University, Shawn Nadelen, entering his first season as head coach at Towson University, and Brian Dougherty, head coach at Chestnut Hill College. The roster includes players from the 2010 World Cup team and the 2009 training team as well as numerous professional level standouts.

The U.S. women's national senior team will play the English women's national team (Jan. 27), as well as the top two finishers in last year's NCAA Division I tournament, the University of Maryland (Jan. 28) and national champion Northwestern University (Jan. 29). This will be the final training opportunity for the 38-player 2011-12 squad, led by head coach Ricky Fried (Georgetown University women's head coach), before the roster is trimmed to 24 in preparation for a summer competition tour in Oshawa, Canada, host of the 2013 World Cup.

Also participating in this year's event are Notre Dame and Jacksonville Universities' men's teams, as well as Syracuse University's women's team.

Returners from the 2009 women's team: Sarah Albrecht (Northwestern '06), Sarah Bullard (Duke '09), Amber Falcone (North Carolina '09), Megan Huether (Duke '06), Erica LaGrow (North Carolina '08), Caitlyn McFadden (Maryland '10), Holly McGarvie (Princeton '09), Lindsey Munday (Northwestern '06), Regina Oliver (Ohio State '05), Katie Rowan (Syracuse '09), Acacia Walker (Maryland '05) and Devon Wills (Dartmouth '06).

Returners from the 2010 men's team: Mike Leveille (Syracuse '08), Stephen Peyser (Johns Hopkins '08), Max Seibald (Cornell '09) and Matt Striebel (Princeton '01). Returners from the 2009 training team: Stephen Berger (Washington College '04), Steven Brooks (Syracuse '08), Chris Eck (Colgate '08), Kevin Leveille (Massachusetts '03) and Lee Zink (Maryland '04).

Several Team USA members on both the men's and women's sides bring Florida ties to this seventh annual exhibition event. Men's team veterans Casey Powell (Boca Raton/St. Andrew's School), Doug Shanahan (Ft. Lauderdale/Pine Crest HS) and Chazz Woodson (Miami/Ransom Everglades HS) all reside and coach high school teams in Florida; while on the women's side, Erica LaGrow and Caitlyn McFadden both serve as assistant coaches of the University of Florida women's team.

The full rosters appear below. The schedule of Team USA games is as follows:

Friday, Jan. 27, 7 p.m. – U.S. Women's Team vs. England Women's Team
Saturday, Jan. 28, 5 p.m. and 7 p.m. – U.S. Women's Team vs. Maryland
Sunday, Jan. 29, 11 a.m. and 1:30 p.m. – U.S. Women's Team vs. Northwestern
Sunday, Jan. 29, 1:30 p.m. – U.S. Men's Team vs. Denver

In addition to playing, both U.S. men's and women's national teams will host National Team Player Clinics for youth and high school players in grades 3-12 Saturday, Jan. 28. And, the U.S. women's team coaching staff will offer a clinic for local coaches to learn "The Team USA Way."

For more information about Champion Challenge, a US Lacrosse event, visit

U.S. Men's Team

No. Pos. Name Current Team College
6 G Scott Rodgers Hamilton Nationals Notre Dame '10
9 M Matt Striebel Rochester Rattlers Princeton '01
10 D Matt Bocklet Denver Outlaws Johns Hopkins '08
13 M Stephen Berger Charlotte Hounds Washington '04
14 G Drew Adams Long Island Lizards Penn State '09
19 A Kevin Leveille UMassters LC Massachusetts '03
20 M Stephen Peyser Long Island Lizards Johns Hopkins '08
22 A Casey Powell Hamilton Nationals Syracuse '98
24 M Chris Eck Boston Cannons Colgate '08
25 A Chazz Woodson LXM Pro Tour Brown '05
26 M Doug Shanahan Ft. Lauderdale Flamingos Hofstra '01
27 D Steven Waldeck Toronto Nationals Stony Brook '10
29 D Lee Zink Denver Outlaws Maryland '04
33 D Michael Evans Chesapeake Bayhawks Johns Hopkins '09
41 D Brian Farrell Boston Cannons Maryland '11
42 M Max Seibald Denver Outlaws Cornell '09
43 D Greg Bice Ohio Machine Ohio State '04
44 M Steven Brooks Chesapeake Bayhawks Syracuse '08
56 M Peet Poillon Chesapeake Bayhawks UMBC '09
91 A Mike Leveille New York Athletic Club Syracuse '08
99 A Dan Glading Chesapeake Bayhawks Virginia '09

U.S. Women's Team

No. Name Pos Hometown College
1 Amber Falcone D Westminster, Md. North Carolina '09
2 Sarah Albrecht M Braintree, Mass. Northwestern '06
3 Devon Wills G Denver, Colo. Dartmouth '06
5 Kelly Berger M Columbia, Md. James Madison '07
6 Katrina Dowd M Yorktown Heights, N.Y. Northwestern '10
7 Holly McGarvie A Medford, N.J. Princeton '09
8 Caitlyn McFadden M Phoenix, Md. Maryland '10
9 Lindsey Munday A Mountain Lakes, N.J. Northwestern '06
10 Taylor Thornton D Dallas, Texas Northwestern '13
11 Jennifer Russell D Andover, Mass. North Carolina '10
12 Jillian Byers A Northport, N.Y. Notre Dame '09
13 Acacia Walker M Sherwood Forest, Md. Maryland '05
14 Gina Oliver D Pottstown, Pa. Ohio State '05
15 Kara Cannizzaro M Cazenovia, N.Y. North Carolina '13
16 Kristin Igoe M Framingham, Mass. Boston College '11
18 Casey Ancarrow A Jarrettsville, Md. James Madison '13
19 Sarah Bullard M Needham, Mass. Duke '11
20 Ashby Kaestner M Trappe, Md. Georgetown '10
21 Katie Rowan A Delmar, N.Y. Syracuse '09
22 Danielle Spencer A Rochester, N.Y. Northwestern '10
23 Lauren Schwarzmann M Sykesville, Md. Johns Hopkins '08
24 Megan Huether G Lutherville, Md. Duke '06
25 Corey Donohoe A Jarrettsville, Md. North Carolina '11
26 Molly Ford A Reisterstown, Md. Georgetown '10
27 Brittany Poist D Hampstead, Md. Maryland '11
28 Erica LaGrow M Skaneateles, N.Y. North Carolina '08
29 Kendall McBrearty G Alexandria, Va. Virginia '08
30 Grace Golden M Manhasset, N.Y. William and Mary '11
31 Danielle Etrasco A Massapequa, N.Y. Boston University '13
32 Allyson Carey M Bel Air, Md. Vanderbilt '12
33 Shannon Smith A West Babylon, N.Y. Northwestern '12
35 Michelle Tumolo A Mullica Hill, N.J. Syracuse '13
36 Laura Zimmerman M Syracuse, N.Y. North Carolina '12
37 Katie Schwarzmann M Sykesville, Md. Maryland '13
38 Kristen Carr D Baltimore, Md. North Carolina '10
39 Katie Hertsch D Westminster, Md. Hofstra '11
40 Amy Altig G Severna Park, Md. James Madison '05
Back to blog

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.