Major League Lacrosse Announces 2013 Schedule

Major League Lacrosse Announces 2013 Schedule

Aug 26, 2012; Allston, MA, USA; Chesapeake Bayhawks defenseman Nicky Polanco (41) holds the major league lacrosse championship trophy after defeating Denver Outlaws 16-6 at Harvard Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Greg M. Cooper-USA TODAY Sports

BOSTON, Mass. (Monday, January, 14, 2013)– Major League Lacrosse (MLL), the premier outdoor professional lacrosse league, announced today the regular season schedule for the 2013 season.

“As we enter our thirteenth season, I believe this is a well balanced schedule,” said MLL Commissioner David Gross. “Each week will offer great matchups that will showcase the best talent professional lacrosse has to offer.”

All of the eight teams (Boston Cannons, Charlotte Hounds, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Denver Outlaws, Hamilton Nationals, New York Lizards, Ohio Machine and Rochester Rattlers) will play each other twice for a balanced season of 56 games that will culminate in Championship Weekend at PPL Park in Chester, Pa. August 24 and 25.

Three matches will open the season on Saturday, April 27, with Denver traveling to Charlotte, reigning 2012 MLL champion Chesapeake visiting Rochester and Boston renewing its rivalry at New York.

Hamilton and Ohio will open their 2013 campaigns a week later with the Nationals visiting Boston and the Machine welcoming Denver.

A rematch of the 2012 MLL Championship game will take place in Week 7 at Navy-Marine Corps Memorial Stadium in Annapolis, Md. between the Denver Outlaws and the Chesapeake Bayhawks on June 15. The 2012 MLL Champions will then visit Sports Authority Field at Mile High in Denver Co., on July 27 for the return leg of the series.

All teams will have a bye between Weeks 10 and 11 as the best players in Major League Lacrosse will measure up in the 2013 MLL All-Star Game in Charlotte, N.C.

August 10, 2013, will mark the end of the regular season with four matchups. Rochester will travel to Boston, Charlotte visits Chesapeake, Denver travels north of the border to Hamilton and New York will welcome Ohio.

A total of 26 live, nationally televised games will be broadcast in 2013, to be announced at a later date. ESPN2 will air six live games, while MLL announced last December a renewed partnership with CBS Sports Network with 20 games, up from 14 last season, being broadcast on the network, in addition to all 18 episodes of “Inside the MLL,” the league’s 30-minute magazine show.

2013 Major League Lacrosse Schedule
Back to blog

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.