BOSTON (April 14, 2015) - Major League Lacrosse, the premier professional outdoor lacrosse league kicked-off Week 1 of its 2015 season on Sunday April 12th. Six of the league's eight teams competed in hopes of bringing home their first win of the season.

The Ohio Machine fell to the New York Lizards, 14-8 in New York. The Machine, coming off a 2014 season that consisted of a 5-game winning streak that lead the team to its first ever playoff appearance and a league high in goals, struggled to score goals in the second half, allowing the Lizards to solidify their first win of the 2015 season. The Boston Cannons took on the defending MLL Champions, the Denver Outlaws, in their new home at Gillette Stadium and came out on top of a 16-13 win. In the Cannon's first game without Paul Rabil, fans looked to Max Seibald for validation of that January trade and Seibald stepped up to the hype, landing a hat trick in his Boston debut. The Charlotte Hounds dropped their home opener to the Rochester Rattlers in a close game that was inevitably decided in a 10-9 overtime loss for the Hounds. Jordan Wolf, attackman for the Rattlers, picked up some of the slack for missing teammates by scoring four goals in the win for Rochester, including the game winning goal.

In continuation of their contributions to Major League Lacrosse, three of our sponsors, Coca-Cola, Warrior Lacrosse and The Faceoff Academy will present weekly recognitions to players across the league that display exceptional play during the game and in their prospective role on their team.

Coca-Cola Players of the Game

Coca-Cola, as a multi-year and proud sponsor of MLL, will feature a weekly honor titled the "Coca-Cola Players of the Game", where one player from each match-up will be deemed the most valuable player of the game. Here are the MLL Week 1 "Coca-Cola Players of the Game":

Jordan Wolf of the Rochester Rattlers
Max Seibald of the Boston Cannons
Matt Gibson of the New York Lizards

Warrior Lacrosse Offensive & Defensive Player of the Week

Warrior Lacrosse, a leading lacrosse brand for equipment, footwear and apparel, will continue to sponsor both an offensive player of the week and defensive player of the week. These awards are two separate awards that honor the best offensive and defensive MLL performances from the week. Here are the MLL 1 Week "Warrior Offensive Player of the Week" and "Warrior Defensive Player of the Week":

Warrior Offensive Player of the Week: Jordan Wolf, Attack for the Rochester Rattlers

Warrior Defensive Player of the Week: Chad Wiedmaier, Defense for the Boston Cannons

FOA-thlete of the Week, Presented by The Faceoff Academy

The Faceoff Academy, another of the MLL's returning sponsors, specializes in the most elite level faceoff coaching focusing in the world. Faceoff men play a huge role in lacrosse. They are the ones that start a possession and can literally make or break a game by themselves. That's why we're introducing "FOA-thlete of the Week, presented by The Faceoff Academy". The award is a weekly feature recapping the best face-off performance of the week based on winning percentage. Here is our MLL Week 1 "FOA-thlete of the Week, presented by The Faceoff Academy":

Brendan Fowler, Midfielder of the Charlotte Hounds
16-for-23 at the "X"
With win percentage of just under 70% against Rochester

About Major League Lacrosse
Major League Lacrosse (MLL), the premier professional outdoor lacrosse league, was founded by Jake Steinfeld and is headquartered in Boston. Major League Lacrosse commenced play in June 2001 and has embarked on its fifteenth season. MLL has continued to lead the sport of lacrosse into the mainstream of competitive team sports. The league is made up of eight teams: The Boston Cannons, Charlotte Hounds, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Denver Outlaws, Florida Launch, New York Lizards, Ohio Machine and Rochester Rattlers.

Like us on Facebook:
Follow us on Twitter:
Find us on Instagram:
Watch us on Youtube:

Click HERE for more information about Major League Lacrosse
Click HERE for tickets to the 2015 MLL All-Star Game at BBVA Compass Stadium in Houston on June 13th.
Click HERE for tickets to the 2015 MLL Championship Game at Fifth Third Bank Stadium in Kennesaw, GA on August 8th.
Back to blog

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.