Loyola University Maryland Men's Lacrosse Receives NCAA Championship Rings

Loyola University Maryland Men's Lacrosse Receives NCAA Championship Rings

The 2012 Loyola University Maryland men’s lacrosse team gathered Friday night with their coaches, University administration and families to celebrate one final the Greyhounds’ first NCAA Division I Men’s Lacrosse Championship.

Head Coach Charley Toomey and the Greyhounds’ staff presented the championship team with their rings that feature 34 jewels and a large Loyola ‘L’ in the middle.

“This is an opportunity tonight to remember the journey this team went on,” Toomey said at the podium before presenting the rings. “This is a time to remember the successful team this was.”

The Greyhounds also handed out team awards before the ring ceremony commenced.

Eric Lusby, who was named the NCAA Tournament Most Outstanding Player, was named the Team’s Most Valuable Player, while the program also handed out two awards for the first time to Lusby’s fellow senior captains.

J.P. Dalton was named the winner of the Joe Boylan Award for Leadership and Inspiration, and Dylan Grimm was the inaugural recipient of the Dr. Paul Bagley Award for Dedication and Sacrifice.

Mike Sawyer earned Offensive MVP, and Scott Ratliff and Joe Fletcher shared Defensive MVP honors. Pat Byrnes was tabbed the Most Improved Player, and Nikko Pontrello earned Rookie of the Year laurels. Ratliff alsopicked up the team’s Groundball Award.
Back to blog

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.