Loyola Men's Lacrosse Recognized By United States Senate

Loyola Men's Lacrosse Recognized By United States Senate

WASHINGTON, D.C. – The Loyola University Maryland men’s lacrosse team was saluted on the floor of the United States Senate on Thursday for winning its first-ever NCAA Championship.

The Greyhounds, which finished the season with an 18-1record, defeated the University of Maryland, 9-3, on May 28 to win the school’s first ever title at the NCAA Division I level.

A resolution was submitted by Maryland’s senators, Barbara Mikulski and Ben Cardin, and unanimously passed by the Senate.

The resolution read:


Mr. CARDIN (for himself and Ms. MIKULSKI) submitted the following resolution; which was considered and agreed to:

S. RES. 514

Whereas on May 28, 2012, Loyola University Maryland won its first NCAA Division I Men’s Lacrosse National Championship and the first Division I national title in the history of the school;

Whereas Loyola is the smallest school in NCAA history to win the Division I Men’s Lacrosse National Championship, with only 3,863 undergraduate students;

Whereas the Loyola Greyhounds finished the men’s lacrosse season with a record of 18 wins and 1 loss;

Whereas the Loyola Greyhounds set a NCAA record for the fewest goals allowed during a men’s lacrosse championship game; Whereas 5 members of the Loyola Greyhounds, Joe Fletcher, Josh Hawkins, Eric Lusby, Scott Ratliff, and Jack Runkel, were named members of the All-Tournament team;

Whereas Loyola senior Eric Lusby was named the Most Outstanding Player of the 2012 NCAA Division I Men’s Lacrosse National Championship after scoring 4 goals in the title game, while also setting a tournament record with a total of 17 goals in 4 games;

Whereas sophomore goalie Jack Runkel had 6 saves in the championship game, holding the University of Maryland to only 3 goals;

Whereas the 18 wins by the Loyola Greyhounds this season set a program record;

Whereas Loyola became just the ninth team to win an NCAA Division IMen’s Lacrosse National Championship since the first championship was held in 1971;

Whereas the Loyola Greyhounds secured their victory in only their second appearance in a national championship, having been defeated by Syracuse in 1990;

Whereas the vision and leadership of the Rev. Brian Linnane, S.J. and Jim Paquette, Loyola University’s President and Athletic Director, respectively, were instrumental in bringing academic and athletic success, as well as national recognition, to Loyola University Maryland; and

Whereas the 2012 Loyola University Maryland men’s lacrosse team has brought honor and pride to their university, the State of Maryland, and theUnited States:

Now, therefore, be it Resolved, That the Senate—

(1) congratulates the Loyola University Maryland Greyhounds for winning the 2012 NCAA Division I Men’s Lacrosse National Championship;

(2) recognizes the achievements of the players, coaches, students, and staff whose hard work and dedication were key to Loyola’s victory in the championship game;


(3) requests the Secretary of the Senate to transmit for appropriate display an enrolled copy of this resolution to Loyola University President Rev. Brian Linnane, S.J. and Loyola University Men’s Lacrosse Head Coach Charley Toomey.
Back to blog

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.