Loyola Lacrosse Alumnus Mark Frye Named To US Lacrosse Baltimore Hall Of Fame

BALTIMORE – Loyola University Maryland men’s lacrosse alumnus Mark Frye ‘99 is one of 10 who has been named to the USLacrosse Greater Baltimore Chapter’s Hall of Fame Class of 2014.

Frye was a three-time All-American for the Greyhounds, and he is the last player in school history to earn All-America First Team honors in back-to-back seasons (1998-99).

The Severna Park, Md., native was one of the most dominant midfielders in recent years at Loyola, scoring 93 goals over his four seasons (1996-99) with the Greyhounds. He finished with 134 career points, logging 41 assists in addition to his goal total.

His 93 career goals rank 11th in school Division I history, while his 41 assists are tied for 21st.

Frye earned All-America Second Team honors as a sophomore in 1997, finishing the season with 32 goals, 13 assists and 45 points. He then earned First Team laurels the next two seasons, recording 25 goals and 12 assists as a junior with 23 and 12 during his senior campaign.

Loyola won 42 games during Frye’s four years as a Greyhound; his teams reached the NCAA Tournament all four seasons and advanced to the NCAA Quarterfinals in his final three years.

After graduating from Loyola with his bachelor of arts in communications and media studies, Frye had an excellent professional stint and is still near the top in several career categories with the Chesapeake Bayhawks franchise. Frye played in 73 games with the Bayhawks (4th all-time), totaled 142 points (5th), scored 75 goals (8th), 46 assists (6th), 21 two-point goals (2nd) and picked up 108 ground balls (T-7th).

He also played briefly in the Canadian Football League – he was a standout football player, as well, at Severna Park High School – seeing action in exhibition games with the British Columbia Lions.

Frye and his fellow Class of 2014 inductees – Lauren Aumiller Cronin, Damien Davis, Conor Gill, John Glatzel, Betsy Elder Grizzle, Kathleen Kaiser Kasabula, Deanna Blood Sandstrom, Kellie Thompson Shiley and Roger Tuck – will be inducted to the Greater Baltimore Chapter Hall of Fame on January 18, 2014, at Hillendale Country Club.
Back to blog

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.