Lehigh's Taylor leads Mountaineers to Box Lacrosse Championship

Lehigh's Taylor leads Mountaineers to Box Lacrosse Championship

BETHLEHEM, Pa. - Lehigh attackman Dan Taylor posted four goals and an assist in a decisive Game 7 Tuesday night to lead his Calgary Mountaineers to the Alberta Junior A Box Lacrosse Championship. The rising sophomore led the league in points (53) and assists (32) these playoffs while tying for third in goals (21). The Mounties advance to the Minto Cup: a four-team tournament featuring the top junior men’s lacrosse teams in Canada. It begins this Saturday in Whitby, Ontario.

Taylor’s 53 points these playoffs were better than numerous Division I college (or college-bound) players. Holden Cattoni, an incoming freshman at Johns Hopkins, finished second with 50 points.

Taylor scored two goals in the second period and two more in the third Tuesday to lead the Mounties past the Raiders, 16-11. The Mounties dropped the first two games of the series, but went on to take Game 3 (11-10), Game 4 (10-9) and Game 6 (8-7) before its runaway victory in Game 7.

The Minto Cup runs from Aug. 18-26 in Whitby, Ontario. Please click here for more information, including schedule, tickets, webcast information and more.

Taylor enjoyed a strong freshman season at Lehigh, posting 17 points (seventh on the team) behind 11 goals and six assists. Three were man-up goals. One highlight came in the Patriot League Championship Game at Colgate when he scored two of the game’s first three goals. Taylor played all 17 games, starting nine times.

In addition to Taylor, Lehigh teammate Patrick Corbett has been active this summer with the Burlington Chiefs in the Ontario Junior A League. He finished third on the team in scoring, leading the Chiefs to the playoffs where they fell to Orangeville.

Like Lehigh men’s lacrosse on Facebook and follow on Twitter for continued updates on the Mountain Hawks leading into a highly anticipated 2013 campaign.
Back to blog

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.