John Desko, Syracuse Lacrosse Honored by FieldTurf

John Desko, Syracuse Lacrosse Honored by FieldTurf

May 25, 2013; Philadelphia, PA, USA; Syracuse Orange head coach John Desko reacts to an officials call against the Denver Pioneers during the fourth quarter of the 2013 NCAA Division I Men's Lacrosse Semifinals at Lincoln Financial Field. Syracuse won the game 9-8. Mandatory Credit: Rich Barnes-USA TODAY Sports
Photo Credit: Rich Barnes

MONTREAL – Five-time national champion head coach John Desko has been named the 2013 FieldTurf Division I Men’s Lacrosse Coach of the Year. The honor marks Desko’s first win in the eight-year history of the award. In addition, FieldTurf selected the 2013 Orange as the NCAA Team of the Year for its performance last season.

Syracuse Tabbed ACC Men’s Lacrosse Preseason Favorite

Desko guided the Orange from its lowest preseason ranking in 15 years to a 16-4 record and an appearance in the national championship game. Along the way, Syracuse captured its fourth straight BIG EAST Championship and tied the school season wins record (16). The Orange was also remarkably good in close games, posting a 7-3 record in games decided by one goal.

Syracuse played its best lacrosse against some of the nation’s top teams. The Orange went 9-1 against ranked opponents in 2013, including a 7-1 mark versus top-10 foes. Syracuse also became the first team in history to defeat college lacrosse heavyweights Virginia, Johns Hopkins, Cornell and Princeton in the same regular season.

Entering his 16th year at the helm of the Orange, Desko owns a 187-58 career record. His .763 career winning is the highest among active Division I coaches and ranks seventh all-time. In 2008, Desko was presented with the F. Morris Touchstone Award as the USILA Division I Coach of the Year. He was named the BIG EAST Conference Coach of the Year in 2011.

Syracuse begins the 2014 campaign on Jan. 25 with a three-way scrimmage against Le Moyne and Hofstra at the Carrier Dome. It opens the regular season at home against Siena on Feb. 10.

About the FieldTurf Award Series
The FieldTurf Coach of the Year Awards recognize a coach’s dedication and hard work both on and off the field. The coaches that have been and will be selected for this award all exemplify outstanding leadership skills and enjoy well-deserved success. Special attention is given to coaches who are able to significantly improve their team’s effort, performance, and overall record from previous years along with coaches who enjoy success with young and inexperienced teams.

The FieldTurf Team of the Year Awards acknowledge teams at all levels of sport that show a passion for the game along with dedication to team play. The teams that will be selected for this award will be teams that have enjoyed success and/or made considerable improvements from previous years within their respective leagues.
Back to blog

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.