It's Official: NALL is Now Six Teams

It's Official: NALL is Now Six Teams

SOMERVILLE, N.J. -- The North American Lacrosse League has announced the addition of a sixth team to play in the 2013 season. The expansion precedes the official start of the 2012 season, and comes on the heels of its first ever free agent draft.

Anthony R. Caruso, Esq., League Counsel and acting Commissioner of the NALL, is encouraged by the transaction. "This is extraordinary for the North American Lacrosse League," says Mr. Caruso. "The addition of an expansion team so soon in our young history is another positive step towards accomplishing our objective of providing a viable professional outlet for the American lacrosse player.

The team, yet to be named, has been purchased by the Massachusetts based PrimeTime Lacrosse, LLC. PrimeTime Lacrosse is co-managed by Tyler Low and Jason Wellemeyer, both former collegiate lacrosse players. The team is expected to play in the Boston area.

"From our first conversations with Commissioner Caruso, it became clear that we would be joining an organization that shares our commitment to professionalism and growing the game of lacrosse in a positive manner in the United States," says Mr. Low. "The number of talented post-collegiate players based in the New England area is astonishing, and we hope to fill our roster with a core group of local talent that can make an immediate impact in the NALL".

Jason Wellemeyer agrees. "It is so important to us that our players be an active, visible presence in the community and truly assume a meaningful role in continuing the growth of professional lacrosse. We could not be more grateful for the opportunity that the NALL has given us to be the league's sixth franchise and represent the Boston area."

Anthony Chase, majority owner of the Kentucky Stickhorses, is thrilled. "Having Jason and Tyler of PrimeTime Lacrosse join our current ownership mix is significant, in that they bring their knowledge of the sport and their entrepreneurial skills to an already impressive group.

The overwhelming response in recent months to the North American Lacrosse League could be a sign of the future. "I would not be surprised if we were making similar announcements in the near future", says Mr. Caruso.

The founding five teams in the league are The Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Shamrocks, the Charlotte Copperheads, theJacksonville Bullies, Kentucky Stickhorses, and the Hershey Haymakers. These teams will start their season in January and play through April. Each team will play a 12-game regular season schedule, with additional exhibitions being played against international squads, such as Team USA, Ireland, and others. You can follow the North American Lacrosse League on Facebook, Twitter and on their website,
Back to blog

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.