Harvard’s DiMaria, Vaughan Named to Tewaaraton Award Watch List

Harvard’s DiMaria, Vaughan Named to Tewaaraton Award Watch List

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – Senior captain Kevin Vaughan, a midfielder, and senior Daniel DiMaria, a long-stick midfielder, have been named to the 2012 Tewaaraton Award Watch List. Vaughan are included in a list of 50 men made up of the top lacrosse players across all three divisions of collegiate lacrosse and highlights the early hopefuls for the 2011 Tewaaraton Award honors.

Vaughan, a midfielder from Ridgewood, N.J., was named to the Inside Lacrosse Preseason All-America third team and Preseason All-Ivy League team. An All-Ivy and New England Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association first team choice last season, he was third on the Crimson with 19 goals and 27 points in 2011. A two-time captain of Harvard, Vaughan was selected by the Denver Outlaws in the second round with the 14th overall pick of the 2012 Major League Lacrosse Collegiate Draft.

DiMaria, who hails from Dix Hills, N.Y., appeared in all 16 games for Harvard last season, pacing the Crimson with 56 ground balls and tying for the team lead with 13 caused turnovers. He was tabbed to the NEILA first team as a junior and picked up 32 ground balls as a sophomore in 2010. DiMaria was chosen by the Charlotte Hounds in the sixth round with the 41st overall pick of the 2012 MLL Draft.

The Selection Committees will make additions to these lists as the season progresses and athletes earn a spot alongside these elite players. In late April, both lists will be narrowed to 25 and these men and women will earn the distinction of Tewaaarton Nominees. In mid-May, the five Finalists in each category will be announced. These finalists will be invited to the Tewaaraton Award Ceremony, which will take place on May 31st, at the Smithsonian Institute's National Museum of the American Indian in Washington D.C.
Event details and ticket information can be found at tewaaraton.com.
Back to blog

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.