Griffo Wins Player of the Year; Spartans Place Nine on DSC All-Conference Team

WINGATE, N.C. - The University of Tampa men's lacrosse team won its second straight Deep South Conference regular season title and Monday nine players were named to the DSC All-Conference Team.

For the second straight year, Greg Griffo was a first-team selection for the Spartans. Joey McMahan, Jasper Gantick, Eric Dance, Larry Gress, and Trevor Calleja were named second-team All-DSC, while Joseph Fiorucci, Kyle Hemrick, and Ryan Becker received honorable mention recognition.

Griffo played in every game for the Spartans and leads the team with goals and 28 points so far this season. He has netted multiple goals in nine games this season, including a season-high four goals against Florida Tech. Griffo is the Spartans' all-time leader in goals, assists, and points. He has also tallied 17 ground balls and six caused turnovers this season.

McMahan has started 10 games at attack for the Spartans. He leads the team with 13 assists, second on the team with 27 points, and tied for third on the team with 14 goals. McMahan's best game came against Florida Southern when he tallied seven points. He also finished the season strong, netting a hat trick in the Spartans last two games.

Gantick, a long-stick midfielder, started every game for Tampa. He has tallied 19 ground balls and five caused turnovers on the season. Gantick has had five mutli-ground ball games this season. He was an All-DSC honorable mention selection last year.

Dance has started all 13 of the Spartans' games this season, tallying 32 ground balls and 10 caused turnovers. On four different occasions, Dance has tallied at least four ground balls in game, including picking up a season-high six against MIT.

Gress has started every game and played a significant role for the Spartans' defense. He has tallied 29 ground balls and 18 caused turnovers so far this season. Gress has caused multiple turnovers in five games this season. His best game came against Saint Leo where he picked up seven ground ball and had one caused turnover. This is Gress' third time being named to the second team All-DSC and first with Tampa.

Calleja has played in all 13 games, starting 10 of them, for Tampa. Calleja has gone 112-190 on faceoffs this season, which is a .589 win percentage. He has also tallied 65 ground balls, four caused turnovers, one goal, and one assist. Calleja best game came against MIT when he won 19 of 23 faceoffs, picked up 13 ground balls, and scored a man-down goal. He was also named defensive player of the week on April 2.

Fiorucci has played in every game this season, starting 12 of them in the cage. He has compiled an 8-4 record, while make 86 saves, and has an 8.97 goals against average. Twice this year Fiorucci has tallied double-digit saves. He was a second team All-DSC selection in 2012.

Hemrick, an attackmen, has played in all 13 games, starting 11 of them. He is second on the team with 20 goals, and third on the team with 25 points. Hemrick has also tallied 27 ground balls and seven caused turnovers. His best game came against Wingate where he netted four goals and had one assist.

Becker has played in all 13 games for the Spartans. He has tallied 14 goals, 17 points, and eight ground balls.

The Spartans will return to action Thursday night at 8 p.m. at Naimoli Family Athletic and Intramural Complex when they host the semi-finals of the DSC Tournament.

Live stats and a video webcast will be available through

Fans may follow University of Tampa athletics on Twitter (, Facebook (, YouTube ( and Instragram (tampaspartans). UT also offers blast, a free text messaging service that sends text alerts following all Spartan events. To sign up, please register at

All-DSC 1st Team
Matt Obermeyer, Saint Leo
John Scheich, Catawba
Chris Caiazza, Saint Leo
Greg Griffo, Tampa
Andrew Conley, Florida Tech
Tom Cullop, Catawba
Long Stick Midfield
Sean Connolly, Saint Leo
DJ Lubs, Florida Southern
Drew Stoltz, Catawba
Nick Scannapieco, Rollins
Dan Krispinsky, Florida Southern
John Laronga, Saint Leo
Dave Moore, Saint Leo

All-DSC 2nd Team
Derek Watts, Wingate
Dane Sorensen, Florida Southern
Joe McMahan, Tampa
Tyler Kotch, Lenoir-Rhyne
Robert Hutchinson, Saint Leo
Sam Ashton, Lenoir-Rhyne
Kevin Naslonski, Florida Southern
Imari Davis, Lenoir-Rhyne
Long Stick Midfield
Amo Olivier, Lenoir-Rhyne
Jasper Gantick, Tampa
Eric Dance, Tampa
Larry Gress, Tampa
Stephen O'Hara, Lenoir-Rhyne
Dan Rew, Catawba
Trevor Calleja, Tampa
Eric Biller, Florida Tech

Honorable Mention
Ned Kaish, Lenoir-Rhyne
Kyle Hemrick, Tampa
Ryan Becker, Tampa
Shane Tompkins, Florida Southern
Chris Murphy, Florida Southern
Long Stick Midfield
Sam Penizotto, Florida Southern
David Beaumont, Florida Southern
Paul Aramanda, Saint Leo
Joe Fiorucci, Tampa

Co-Player of the Year: Greg Griffo, Tampa
Co-Player of the Year: Matt Obermeyer, Saint Leo
Freshman of the Year: Dave Moore, Saint Leo
Coach of the Year: Ryan McAleavey, Florida Tech

Visit for the latest news and info on University of Tampa Athletics.
Back to blog

1 comment

[…] PlaygroundCategories: D2 TAMPA, Fla. – University of Tampa men’s lacrosse standout Greg Griffo has been named an honorable mention All-American by the United States Intercollegiate Coaching […]

Lacrosse Playground » Greg Griffo Becomes Tampa’s First Lacrosse All-American, Full Division II All-American List Included

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.