Drew Adams Awarded 2015 Maverik Goalie of the Year

Drew Adams Awarded 2015 Maverik Goalie of the Year


MLL Championship bound New York Lizards goaltender, Drew Adams wins the 2015 "Maverik Goalie of the Year" award after a remarkable season

BOSTON (August 3, 2015) - Major League Lacrosse, the premier professional outdoor lacrosse league, and Maverik Lacrosse announced today that New York Lizards goalkeeper Drew Adams has been named 2015 Maverik Goalie of the Year, as voted by MLL coaches and general managers.

The seven-season veteran goalkeeper for New York earned 9 first place votes to receive the 2015 Maverik Goalie of the Year title. Behind Adams, Chesapeake's Tyler Fiorito finished in second with 6 first place votes after a remarkable year himself while Ohio's goaltender Brain Phipps, earned a first place vote as well.

Adams shared a few words regarding winning the 2015 award:

"I think its a testament to the team. My play was just a result of some of the great guys in front of me. Our defense did a great job this year and our offense was super productive. Everyone made my job a lot easier by doing theirs."

A starter in all 14 games for the Lizards, Adams led New York to a top seed heading into playoffs. The veteran finished the 2015 regular season with a career high for saves in a season and a career high in season save percentage, helping the Lizards reach the Playoffs for just the second time in seven years.

In the MLL semifinal game this past weekend, Adams goaltending once again made it's valuable impact as he helped his New York Lizards capture a thrilling one goal win in overtime against Boston. Specifically, Adams made a unbelivable save from point blank range on a fastbreak in overtime that could have possibly given Boston the win. Adams had 20 saves in the win that will give New York its first trip back to the MLL Championship Game, since 2010.

Adams was an integral part of the Lizards' success this season, defending consistently well against opponents as New York heads into the Championship Game with a 11-4 overall record. He has proven himself to be invaluable help to a very successful and top seeded Lizards team this season.

Drew Adams will be back in net again for the New York Lizards as they try to capture their first Steinfeld Cup since 2003 at Fifth Third Bank Stadium in Kennesaw, GA. on August 8th at 7:00pm EST. For tickets to the Championship Game, please click HERE.

2015 Maverik Goalie Voting Results

The 2015 "Maverik Goalie of the Year" is determined based on the total number of points each goalie receives. Every vote is assigned a point total, with first place receiving five points, second place receiving three points and third place receiving one point.

First place = 5 points

Second place = 3 points

Third place = 1 point
Screen Shot 2015-08-04 at 11.36.21 AM

About Maverik Lacrosse

Founded in 2005, Maverik Lacrosse is a leading lacrosse equipment manufacturer that designs and develops gear to advance player protection and performance. Team Maverik, which is headquartered in New York, N.Y., has a growing list of premier lacrosse partnerships, including Major League Lacrosse and elite NCAA Division I programs. Performance Sports Group Ltd., the parent company of Maverik Lacrosse, is a publicly traded company on the New York Stock Exchange and the Toronto Stock Exchange whose affiliates market products under the BAUER, MISSION, MAVERIK, CASCADE, INARIA, COMBAT and EASTON brand names and are distributed by sales representatives and independent distributors throughout the world. For more information, visit Maverik Lacrosse's website at www.MaverikLacrosse.com.

Twitter: @MaverikLacrosse

Instagram: @MaverikLacrosse

Facebook: Facebook.com/MaverikLacrosse

About Major League Lacrosse

Major League Lacrosse (MLL), the premier professional outdoor lacrosse league, was founded by Jake Steinfeld and is headquartered in Boston. Major League Lacrosse commenced play in June 2001 and has embarked on its fifteenth season. MLL has continued to lead the sport of lacrosse into the mainstream of competitive team sports. The league is made up of eight teams: The Boston Cannons, Charlotte Hounds, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Denver Outlaws, Florida Launch, New York Lizards, Ohio Machine and Rochester Rattlers.

Follow us on...

FaceBook: Facebook.com/MajorLeagueLacrosse
Twitter: @MLL_Lacrosse
Instagram: @MajorLeagueLax
SnapChat: MajorLeagueLax
YouTube: Youtube.com/MLL
Back to blog

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.