Denver Men’s Lacrosse Announces 2016 Class

DENVER – The University of Denver men’s lacrosse team welcomes 17 newcomers to its roster for the 2013 season, Pioneer head coach Bill Tierney announced today. The 2016 class is comprised of four attackmen, eight midfielders, four defenders and one goalie.

“The Class of 2016 has us very excited, as we move into the second phase of establishing DU as a traditional power in Division I lacrosse,” coach Tierney said. “Three years of having Mark Matthews as a focal point, has resulted in three NCAA appearances, two quarterfinals and ECAC championships, and a Final Four. As we move forward, our depth needs to be established and this group is ready for the challenge.”

The Pioneers’ incoming attack group consists of Tom Moore (West Islip, N.Y.), Michael Marcott (Portland, Ore.), Reed Barbe (Greenwich, Conn.) and Gordie Koerber (Baltimore, Md.).

At midfield, the Pioneers welcome Hunter Gore (Plano, Texas), Chris Hampton (Bethesda, Md.), Blake Dutton (Lake Oswego, Ore.), Joe Bano (Dublin, Ohio), Christian Thomas (Highlands Ranch, Colo.), Jack Pruitt (Sammamish, Wash.), Jack Clippinger (Stamford, Conn.) and Walt Rooney (Rockville Centre, N.Y.).

“It is a large class full of great athletes, mostly consisting of team captains, State Champions, college football recruits, and premier players from successful programs,” Tierney said. “We will integrate their skills into an already talented returning group, hopefully continuing our rise to the top of collegiate lacrosse.”

Joining one of the most talented goalkeeping units in the country is Joey Gigantiello (Shamong, N.J.), while the Pioneers have bolstered their defensive unit with the additions of Pat Karole (Glen Ridge, N.J.), Jordan Cunningham (Atlanta, Ga.), Matt Coppola (Bethesda, Md.) and Geoff Davis (Jefferson, Md.).

The 2016 recruiting class boasts 11 All-State selections, seven All-Americans, seven team captains, six All-Conference selections, four All-Region selections, four ESPN Top 100 Recruits, three Jake Reed Nike Blue Chip honorees, three participants of the Under Armor All-America game, one State Championship MVP and one Academic All-American.
Back to blog

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.