Bud Light MLL Season MVP Honors Goes to Brendan Mundorf

Bud Light MLL Season MVP Honors Goes to Brendan Mundorf


BOSTON, Mass.– Major League Lacrosse, the premier professional outdoor lacrosse league, announced Thursday that attackman Brendan Mundorf of the Denver Outlaws has been named as the 2012 Bud Light MLL Season Most Valuable Player, according to MLL Commissioner David Gross. The award was based on the votes submitted by the head coach and general manager of each of the League’s eight teams.

“It’s a huge honor being a part of this league and of the few guys who have won this award in the 12 years the league has been around,” says Mundorf. “It has a lot to do with our entire team; without a great team beside me I wouldn’t be here so special thanks to them and the entire Denver Outlaws organization.”

The MLL’s second-leading scorer with 59 points this season, Mundorf tallied 32 goals and 27 assists while leading the Denver Outlaws to a franchise-record 11 wins and the top seed in the 2012 MLL Championship Weekend presented by Warrior. He finished second in the MLL in goals and was fourth in the MLL in assists.

Mundorf, who played in 12 games this season, was named as the Bud Light MLL Player of the Game three times while earning MLL Offensive Player of the Week notice twice. He tallied at least one point in all 12 games, including a season-high eight points against Chesapeake on June 12 and in a win over Rochester on June 16.

In the Outlaws’ victory on June 9, he scored three goals and added three assists to earn Bud Light MLL Player of the Game honors. He also earned the award in the victory over the Rattlers on June 16 after tallying a season-high six goals with two assists. In addition, he received the honor after a three-goal, two-assist performance against the Chesapeake Bayhawks in the regular season finale on August 11.

A seven-year MLL veteran, Mundorf has been honored as the Bud Light MLL Player of the Game 15 times in his career, which is tied for third in MLL history. He has also earned the MLL Offensive Player of the Week award seven times over the last four years.

The all-time leading scorer in Denver Outlaws history, Mundorf has scored 206 career goals with 100 assists in 79 career games. He was also named to the All-MLL team in 2009 after scoring 34 goals with 10 assists.

The MLL Championship Weekend presented by Warrior will be held on August 25 and 26 at Harvard Stadium. The top-seeded Denver Outlaws will face the fourth-seeded Long Island Lizards in the first semi-final at 1 p.m. before the second-seeded Chesapeake Bayhawks will play against the defending MLL champion Boston Cannons, who earned the third seed, in the second semi-final at approximately 4 p.m.

The two semi-final winners will play in the championship game on Sunday, August 26 at 3 p.m.

About Anheuser-Busch

Based in St. Louis, Anheuser-Busch is the leading American brewer, holding a 47.7 percent share of U.S. beer sales to retailers. The company brews Budweiser and Bud Light, two of the world’s largest-selling beers. Anheuser-Busch also owns a 50 percent share in Grupo Modelo, Mexico’s leading brewer. Anheuser-Busch is a major manufacturer of aluminum cans and has been a leading aluminum recycler for more than 30 years. The company is a wholly-owned subsidiary of Anheuser-Busch InBev, the leading global brewer, and continues to operate under the Anheuser-Busch name and logo. For more information, visit www.anheuser-busch.com.

About Major League Lacrosse

Major League Lacrosse (MLL), the premier professional outdoor lacrosse league, was founded by Jake Steinfeld and is headquartered in Boston, Massachusetts. Major League Lacrosse commenced play in June of 2001 and will enter its 13th season in 2013. MLL has continued to lead the sport of lacrosse into the mainstream of competitive team sports. The league is made up of eight teams: The Boston Cannons, Charlotte Hounds, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Denver Outlaws, Hamilton Nationals, Long Island Lizards, Ohio Machine and Rochester Rattlers.

The 2013 MLL Collegiate Draft will take place on January 11, 2013 in Philadelphia, Pa. The 2013 season will commence on April 27, 2013. More information about the league can be found at www.majorleaguelacrosse.com.
Back to blog

1 comment

[…] the second game while scoring eight-unanswered goals for the 14-8 win.Brendan Mundorf, newly-tabbed MVP of the MLL for the 2012 season, isn’t about to let anything get in the way of his team and their goal. The […]

Lacrosse Playground» Blog Archive » Major League Lacrosse Playoff Picture

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.