Boston's Bill Daye Honored as 2011 Brine MLL Coach of the Year

BOSTON, Mass. August 18, 2011 - Major League Lacrosse, the premier professional outdoor lacrosse league, announced Thursday that Boston Cannons Coach Bill Daye has been named as the 2011 Brine MLL Coach of the Year, according to MLL Commissioner David Gross. The award was based on the votes submitted by the head coaches and general managers of each of the League’s six teams.

“Like Brine, Coach Daye represents the best aspects of lacrosse; hard work, integrity, leadership and teamwork,” said Dave Dixon, Brine Chief Marketing Officer. “Brine congratulates Coach Daye on an outstanding season and wishes him the best of luck in the playoffs.”

Daye, who is in his sixth season as the Cannons’ head coach, led Boston to its second straight MLL regular season title and a 9-3 record this year. The Cannons opened the season with a 6-1 record, including a five-game win streak, en route to their fourth postseason appearance in the last six years.

The nine wins for the Cannons this year are the most by a Boston team during the last six years.

“It’s definitely an honor for me to receive this award,” Daye said. “Thanks to the Cannons organization, my coaching staff and the players on this team for making it possible.”

Daye, who also played for the Cannons and was an assistant coach before taking the helm in 2006, has a career regular season record of 43-29 (.597) and has led the Cannons to four winning seasons in six years.

About Brine

Headquartered in Warren, Michigan, Brinewasestablished in 1922. Brinehas spent almost a century supportingplayers in their athletic pursuit of game improvement products and programs. Recognized for innovation of the Offset™ lacrosse stick and the original round bladder soccer ball, Brine was acquired by New Balance Athletic Shoe, Inc. in August, 2006. Brine is a recognized industry leader in lacrosse, soccer, field hockey and volleyball. For more information about Brine, please visit

About Major League Lacrosse

Major League Lacrosse (MLL), the premier professional outdoor lacrosse league, was founded by Jake Steinfeld and is headquartered in Boston, Massachusetts. Major League Lacrosse commenced play in June of 2001. Major League Lacrosse has continued to lead the sport of lacrosse into the mainstream of competitive team sports. Comprised of six teams located in Boston, Chesapeake, Denver, Long Island, Rochester and Hamilton, Major League Lacrosse is in its eleventh season this year. MLL has added two teams for the 2012 season; the Charlotte Hounds located in Charlotte, N.C. and the Ohio Machine located in Columbus, OH.

The 2011 Sports Authority MLL All-Star Game took place on July 9 at Harvard Stadium in Boston. The 2011 Sports Authority MLL Championship Weekend, presented by Warrior, is scheduled for August 27 & 28 at Navy-Marine Corps Stadium in Annapolis, Md. For more information, please visit
Back to blog

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.