Applications Available for 2016 U.S. Men’s U19 Head Coach

US Lacrosse has announced an opening for the Head Coach of the 2016 U.S. Men’s National Under-19 Team.

The coach will lead Team USA in pursuit of a record eighth world championship gold medal at the Federation of International Lacrosse (FIL) U19 Men’s World Championship, July 7-16, 2016, in Coquitlam, British Columbia.

The Head Coach is primarily responsible for the training, selection, coaching and leadership of the U.S. men’s U19 team in preparation for the World Championship. The coaches shall work with the US Lacrosse staff and National Team Committee to determine a schedule of team activities as it fits into the annual cycle.

All of the team’s coaches will have:

  • Significant competitive interscholastic lacrosse head coaching experience or intercollegiate coaching experience and a demonstrated record of success on the field as a coach and mentor to athletes

  • Experience with and be supportive of US Lacrosse and the U.S. National Teams program

  • Demonstrate a willingness to promote and grow the U.S. National Teams program

  • Demonstrate a capacity to develop relationships with staff and players

  • Strong communication skills and positive relationships with top collegiate and professional coaches

  • Experience and exposure in the international game.

Only current active high school and collegiate coaches are eligible to apply. The deadline for applications is Friday, Dec. 5, 2014. Top applicants will be contacted for interviews in late December, with finalist interviews to take place at the US Lacrosse Convention, Jan. 23-25, 2015, in Baltimore, Md. The head coach will be selected and announced in early February.

To be considered, please complete the application form at and submit a list of three references to Tony Leko, director of national teams, at

Under the leadership of Head Coach Tim Flynn (Mountain Lakes, N.J.), Team USA captured its seventh FIL U19 Men’s World Championship in 2012 by defeating Canada 10-8 in the gold medal game in Turku, Finland. The U.S. previously earned world titles in 1988, 1992, 1996, 1999, 2003 and 2008.
Back to blog

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.