ACC Announces 2013 Men's Lacrosse Individual Award Recipients

GREENSBORO, N.C. ( – The Atlantic Coast Conference has honored four individuals as recipients of the 2013 ACC Men’s Lacrosse annual awards, announced Tuesday as voted on by the league’s four head coaches.

North Carolina’s Marcus Holman was named the Offensive Player of the Year, and Duke’s Brendan Fowler garnered Defensive Player of the Year accolades. Virginia’s Tanner Scales earned Freshman of the Year honors, and North Carolina’s Joe Breschi was named the Coach of the Year.

Holman is the11th Tar Heel to earn ACC Player of the Year honors and the first since Billy Bitter was recognized in 2010. A senior from Baltimore, Md., Holman was named the ACC Championship Most Valuable Player after tallying four goals and seven assists in the two games. He has registered a league-leading 74 points this season, matching the third most in a single season in North Carolina history, and has the chance to be the first Tar Heel to finish the season atop the league in points per game since 1985. During Sunday’s championship game, he set the program’s all-time career scoring record when he recorded his 205th point.

Fowler, who also plays on the Duke football team as a linebacker, is the second consecutive Blue Devil to earn the league’s defensive accolade after CJ Costabile was named co-Defensive Player of the Year in 2012. A senior from Wantagh, N.Y., Fowler ranks third in the country in faceoff win percentage (.652), winning 255 of 391 faceoffs this year. Fowler won better than 50 percent of faceoffs taken in 14 games played this season, and had at least 20 wins on three occasions.

Scales is the 11th Cavalier to be named ACC Freshman of the Year and first since Steele Stanwick earned the honor in 2009. A native of Denver, Colo., Scales led all freshmen nationally with 25 caused turnovers. He played in all of Virginia’s 15 games this season, earning a starting role on the close defense against Cornell and holding on to that spot for the rest of the season. His 1.67 caused turnovers per game tied for third in the conference, and he finished the season with 33 ground balls.

Breschi earns his second career ACC Coach of the Year honor after leading the Tar Heels to a 12-3 record and their first conference title since 1996. North Carolina has won nine straight games, the second longest winning streak for the program since 1993, and is ranked as the No. 1 team in the country in both the Nike/Inside Lacrosse Media Poll and the USILA Coaches Poll. North Carolina has beaten six ranked teams this season, including four in the top 10, and is currently No. 3 in the NCAA RPI heading into the NCAA Tournament.
Back to blog

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.