(Washington, DC) – The DC Lacrosse Association is proud to present the 2nd Annual Breakout Lacrosse DC Classic on Saturday, May 22 at Woodrow Wilson High School in Northwest, D.C.

The Lacrosse Classic consists of games featuring seven boys’ varsity lacrosse teams in the Nation’s Capital—Georgetown Day, Gonzaga, Maret, Sidwell Friends, St. John’s, St. Albans, and Wilson High School—along with invited guest Eleanor Roosevelt High School from Greenbelt, Maryland. The event is sponsored and directed by Breakout Lacrosse, one of the DC Metropolitan area’s fastest growing boys’ and girls’ lacrosse training companies.

The inaugural DC Lacrosse Classic was attended by more than 1,000 fans last spring at St. Albans School, including DC Mayor Adrian M. Fenty, who conducted the coin toss prior to the evening’s final contest. The DC Lacrosse Classic last year joined the Baseball Classic, Wrestling Classic, Softball Classic, and All City Football Bowl in showcasing D.C. student-athletes and giving them an opportunity to play in a city-wide competition.

“We are excited to make what was a tremendous event last year even better on May 22,” said Breakout Lacrosse co-director Matt Breslin, who serves as DC Classic coordinator. “In addition to the four top-notch games, we are looking forward to introducing many of the city’s youths to lacrosse through the clinic.”

At 1:30 p.m., Breakout Lacrosse will be conducting a free lacrosse clinic for boys ages 5 to 14. The clinic is open to experienced lacrosse players and newcomers alike, no preregistration required. Also, equipment is not required and the DC Lacrosse Classic will provide sticks for those who need them. Breslin, a former professional lacrosse player and All-American goalie at Duke, will help lead the clinic, along with his fellow Breakout co-directors.

This spring, Woodrow Wilson High School became the first DC Public School to field a boys’ high school lacrosse team, which has been documented widely in media outlets throughout the city. The Wilson Tigers are coached by Lucius Polk and Harry Alford, former college standouts and professional players—and DC natives, having graduated from St. Albans.

“We are looking forward to hosting the DC Lacrosse Classic and having many of the area’s lacrosse fans visit our school,” said Wilson Athletic Director Michael Burnell. “It will highlight the new athletic facilities we have, and also show that with enthusiastic players, supportive parents, and committed coaches, a DC public high school boys lacrosse team is able to thrive.”

Wilson, the District’s only boys’ public school team, faces off at 10 a.m. against Eleanor Roosevelt, the only boys’ public school team in Prince George’s County. The noon game features two league rivals, Georgetown Day and Maret, who compete in the Mid-Atlantic Athletic Conference (MAC).

The 3 p.m. game features two teams developing a tight rivalry on the field. In the 2009 DC Lacrosse Classic, St. John’s nipped Sidwell, 10-9, in a back and forth battle that onlookers said was the best game of the day. Early this season, the one-goal trend continued, as Sidwell beat St. John’s, 5-4.

At 5 p.m., all eyes will be on the Gonzaga Purple Eagles as they take on the St. Albans Bulldogs. Riding a 15-game win streak, Gonzaga comes into the game as the 2nd ranked team in the area. The Eagles won their first Washington Catholic Athletic Conference championship since 1998 with a 9-8 overtime victory over DeMatha on May 7.

The DC Lacrosse Classic schedule is as follows:

• 10:00 a.m. Woodrow Wilson High School vs. Eleanor Roosevelt
• Noon Georgetown Day vs. Maret
• 1:30—2:30 Breakout Lacrosse Clinic for Boys Ages 5-14
• 3:00 p.m. - Sidwell Friends vs. St. John’s
• 5:00 p.m. Gonzaga vs. St. Albans

Admission to the DC Lacrosse Classic is free for students high school age and younger and $5 for adults. Commemorative DC Lacrosse Classic t-shirts, listing all eight participating schools, will be sold, along with game programs. Concessions will also be sold throughout the day.

Proceeds from the DC Lacrosse Classic will benefit Metro Lacrosse and the Bishop John T. Walker School. MetroLacrosse is a non-profit organization whose mission is to address the social and economic disparities that exist in urban settings by inspiring personal, educational and athletic success among urban youth and teens. The Bishop John T. Walker School, named after the late Bishop of Washington, is a tuition-free Episcopal School in Anacostia for children of low-income families.

www.metrolacrosse.org and www.bishopwalkerschool.org has more information about these exemplary DC Lacrosse Classic beneficiaries.

“The DC Lacrosse Classic was a long time in the making and proved to be better than (Gonzaga coach) Casey O’Neill and I ever thought it would be,” said St. Albans head coach Malcolm Lester, founder of the DC Lacrosse Association and DC Lacrosse Classic, who first ran the idea for the Classic by O’Neill in 2008. “With the teams assembled and the leadership of Breakout Lacrosse, it should be a great day of lacrosse for all.”

Contact: Matt Breslin, 484.994.6564, breslinm@breakoutlacrosse.com
Back to blog

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.