2014 All-ACC Academic Women’s Lacrosse Team Announced

May 25, 2014; Towson, MD, USA; Syracuse attack Kayla Treanor (21) drives towards the net during the the first half against Maryland during the women's college lacrosse championshipat Johnny Unitas Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Tommy Gilligan-USA TODAY Sports
Photo Credit: Tommy Gilligan

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Syracuse senior Alyssa Murray has been named the 2014 Atlantic Coast Conference Women’s Lacrosse Scholar-Athlete of the Year and headlines the All-ACC Academic Women’s Lacrosse Team, as announced Monday by Commissioner John Swofford.

A child and family studies major, Murray completed her storied career at Syracuse with 300 points on 200 goals and 100 assists. The West Babylon, New York native was a Tewaaraton Award and Honda Award finalist, IWLCA First Team All-American and First Team All-ACC selection in 2014, and was named Inside Lacrosse’s Co-Attacker of the Year.

All eight of the league’s women’s lacrosse programs are represented on the All-ACC Academic Team, led by Syracuse with seven selections. Duke and Virginia followed each with five student-athletes on team, while Boston College, Maryland and North Carolina each placed four on the team, Notre Dame had three and Virginia Tech two.

Two student-athletes earned their fourth career ACC academic honor: Boston College’s Moira Barry and Duke’s Taylor Virden, while Boston College’s Claire Blohm, Duke’s Taylor Trimble, North Carolina’s Taylor George and Virginia’s Liza Blue are three-time honorees.

The ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year awards were established in September 2007 to be awarded annually to the top junior or senior student-athlete in their respective sports. Candidates for the awards must have maintained a 3.0 grade point average for their career as well as a 3.0 for each of the last two semesters.

To be eligible for consideration for the All-ACC Academic Team, a student-athlete must have earned a 3.00 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.00 cumulative average during her academic career.

Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Alyssa Murray, Syracuse
2014 All-ACC Academic Women's Lacrosse Team
Moira Barry (4) Sr. Psychology Boston College
Claire Blohm (3) Sr. Biology Boston College
Sara Blue GS Administrative Studies Boston College
Mikaela Rix (2) Jr. Finance Boston College
Maddy Morrissey (3) Sr. Psychology Duke
Taylor Virden (4) Sr. Visual & Media Studies Duke
Sydney Peterson Sr. Political Science & History Duke
Kerrin Maurer Jr. Political Science Duke
Taylor Trimble (3) Jr. Public Policy Duke
Megan Douty (2) Jr. Kinesiology Maryland
Brooke Griffin (2) Sr. Kinesiology Maryland
Halle Majorana (2) So. Letters & Science Maryland
Zoe Stukenberg Fr. Biological Sciences Maryland
Margaret Corzel Sr. Business Administration North Carolina
Taylor George (3) Sr. Journalism North Carolina
Sydney Holman Fr. Journalism North Carolina
Sloane Serpe Sr. Communication Studies North Carolina
Alexandra Dalton Fr. Undeclared Notre Dame
Cortney Fortunato Fr. Undeclared Notre Dame
Caitlin Gargan Jr. Marketing Notre Dame
Devon Collins Jr. Finance Syracuse
Amy Cross Sr. Inclusive Education Syracuse
Natalie Glanell Sr. Comm. & Rhetorical Studies Syracuse
Kailah Kempney Jr. Health & Exercise Science Syracuse
Kasey Mock Sr. Inclusive Education Syracuse
Alyssa Murray Sr. Child & Family Studies Syracuse
Katie Webster Sr. Health & Exercise Science Syracuse
Liza Blue (3) Jr. Kinesiology Virginia
Liz Colgan Sr. Economics Virginia
Lauren Goerz Sr. English Virginia
Maddy Keeshan(2) Sr. History Virginia
Courtney Swan (2) Jr. Kinesiology Virginia
Cawley Bromley Jr. Human Development Virginia Tech
Meghan Macera (2) So. Art Virginia Tech
(#) – Career All-ACC Academic Honors
Back to blog

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.