2013 All-ACC Academic Men's Lacrosse Team Announced

2013 All-ACC Academic Men's Lacrosse Team Announced

May 27, 2013; Philadelphia, PA, USA; Duke Blue Devils midfielder Brendan Fowler (3) reaches for a loose ball around a group of Syracuse Orange defenders during the second quarter of the 2013 NCAA Division I Men's Lacrosse Championship Game at Lincoln Financial Field. Duke won the game 16-10. Mandatory Credit: Rich Barnes-USA TODAY Sports

GREENSBORO, N.C. (theACC.com) – Duke junior Brendan Fowler has been named the 2013 Atlantic Coast Conference Men’s Lacrosse Scholar-Athlete of the Year and headlines the All-ACC Academic Men’s Lacrosse Team, as announced Wednesday by Commissioner John Swofford.

A sociology major, Fowler was named the Most Outstanding Player of the NCAA Men’s Lacrosse Championship after dominating faceoffs to lead Duke to the national title. The United States Intercollegiate Athletic Association selected Fowler to the All-America First Team for his play during the season.

A native of Wantagh, N.Y., and a two-sport athlete at Duke, Fowler was voted to the All-ACC team by the league’s coaches, who also selected him as the ACC Defensive Player of the Year. During the postseason, he garnered both ACC and NCAA All-Tournament accolades.

Fowler is the second straight Blue Devil to be named ACC Men’s Lacrosse Scholar-Athlete of the Year and third overall. He is preceded by Blue Devils CJ Costabile in 2012 and Max Quinzani in 2010.

All four of the league’s men’s lacrosse programs are represented on the All-ACC Academic Team, led by Duke with nine selections. North Carolina placed eight players on the team, followed by Virginia with six and Maryland with five.

Seven student-athletes earned their third career ACC academic honor: Duke’s Jimmy O’Neill, Josh Offit, Christian Walsh, and Jordan Wolf; Maryland’s Owen Blye; and North Carolina’s Frankie Kelly and Kieran McDonald.

The ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year awards were established in September 2007 to be awarded annually to the top junior or senior student-athlete in their respective sports. Candidates for the awards must have maintained a 3.0 grade point average for their career as well as a 3.0 for each of the last two semesters.

To be eligible for consideration for the All-ACC Academic Team, a student-athlete must have earned a 3.00 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.00 cumulative average during his academic career.

2013 All-ACC Academic Men's Lacrosse Team

Deemer Class Duke Fr. Undeclared
Dan DiMaria Duke GS Master of Management Studies
Brendan Fowler Duke Jr. Sociology
Chris Hipps (2) Duke Jr. History
Jimmy O'Neill (3) Duke Sr. History
Josh Offit (3) Duke Sr. History
Tommy Patterson (2) Duke Sr. Economics
Christian Walsh (3) Duke Jr. History
Jordan Wolf (3) Duke Jr. History
Jesse Bernhardt (2) Maryland Sr. Criminology and Criminal Justice
Owen Blye (3) Maryland Sr. Operations Management
James Carlson Maryland So. Letters and Sciences
Landon Carr (2) Maryland Sr. Kinesiology
Matthew Dunn Maryland Fr. Business
Jake Bailey (2) North Carolina So. Journalism
Jimmy Bitter North Carolina So. Journalism
Frankie Kelly (3) North Carolina Jr. Business Administration
Jake Matthai North Carolina Fr. Communication Studies
Kieran McDonald (3) North Carolina Sr. Business Administration
Zach Powers North Carolina Fr. Business Administration
Joey Sankey (2) North Carolina So. Journalism
Matt Shannon North Carolina So. Journalism
Greg Danseglio Virginia So. Arts & Sciences Undeclared
Rob Emery (2) Virginia Jr. Economics
Charles Streep Virginia Sr. Educational Psychology
Ryan Tucker Virginia So. Arts & Sciences Undeclared
Owen Van Arsdale (2) Virginia Jr. Commerce
Carl Walrath Virginia So. Arts & Sciences Undeclared
(#) – Career ACC Academic honors
Back to blog

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.