ACC’s Notre Dame and Syracuse Earn Top Seeds in NCAA Men’s Lacrosse Championship

ACC’s Notre Dame and Syracuse Earn Top Seeds in NCAA Men’s Lacrosse Championship


ESPN2, ESPNU and WatchESPN will provide exclusive coverage of the 2015 NCAA Men’s Lacrosse Championship Presented by Northwestern Mutual beginning with first-round games on Saturday, May 9, and concluding with the national title game on Monday, May 25. The top two seeds in the championship – No. 1 Notre Dame and No. 2 Syracuse, both from the Atlantic Coast Conference – take to the field for first-round action on ESPNU on Saturday, May 9, at 5 p.m. ET and Sunday, May 10, at 7:30 p.m., respectively.

The Lost Trophy, the story behind why the greatest college lacrosse team from Syracuse had its NCAA title vacated in 1990, will debut on Saturday, May 9, at 11a.m. on ESPNU.

ESPN’s top lacrosse commentating team will again be in position throughout the NCAA Championship, led by veteran play-by-play voice Eamon McAnaney, along with analyst Quint Kessenich and sideline reporter/analyst Paul Carcaterra. The trio will call the two quarterfinal games on Sunday, May 17, from Annapolis, Md., in addition to the national semifinals on Saturday, May 23, and the title game on Monday, May 25, from Lincoln Financial Field in Philadelphia. Calling the quarterfinal games from Denver will be Mike Corey, Matt Ward and Ryan Boyle.

Joining ESPN’s early-round coverage are analysts Carcaterra (All-American at Syracuse), Boyle (four-time Princeton All-American), Ward (Tewaaraton trophy winner and Virginia attackman), as well as Mark Dixon (Johns Hopkins midfielder), Ryan Flanagan (North Carolina defenseman) and Jamie Munro (Brown All-American). Calling game action will be McAnaney (Notre Dame defenseman), Corey, as well as Jason Benetti, Joe Beninati and Booker Corrigan.

Anish Shroff will host ESPN’s studio coverage throughout the championship. He will be joined by Kessenich at ESPNU studios in Charlotte, N.C., for first-round games, followed by Flanagan for the quarterfinals and semifinals. The studio duo of Shroff and Boyle will move to Philadelphia for full analysis of the title game on Monday.

The women’s championship weekend opens from PPL Park, also in Philadelphia, on Friday, May 22, with the national semifinals shown on ESPN3, followed by the title game on Sunday, May 24, airing on ESPNU and WatchESPN. Joe Beninati will have the call of the three games with analysts Courtney Connor (Maryland All-American) and Sheehan Stanwick Burch (Georgetown four-time All-American).

WatchESPN is accessible online at, on smartphones and tablets via the WatchESPN app, and streamed on televisions through Amazon Fire TV and Fire TV Stick, Apple TV, Chromecast, Roku, Xbox 360 or Xbox One to fans who receive their video subscription from an affiliated provider.

Join the NCAA lacrosse twitter conversation: #NCAALAX.

Screen Shot 2015-05-05 at 12.08.48 PM
Screen Shot 2015-05-05 at 12.09.03 PM
Back to blog